Free martini square pattern

1 Jul

I’m sure many of you have been thinking to yourselves, “Why, a baby blanket made with alcohol symbols? Where can I get me one of those?!” If that is the case, or if you just like stuff made to look like liquor, help yourself to the pattern. It might make a cute dishcloth or framed art, or a patch on a blanket for an adult. Or, if you have the last name Martini, it’s perfect for you!

So, for those of you interested in repeating my process, just get yourself a knitting book and some needles and yarn.

If you are interested in the shortcut, which I highly recommend, then here’s the pattern for my martini square #1. To follow it, assume that the empty squares are sc stitches in your original color (in my case, ecru) and the squares with “X” in them are sc stitches in your second color (sage green for me). I held the yarns together, sometimes weaving in and other times letting the green hang while I worked with the ecru, so the green would be in the middle where I needed to pick it up the next time.

**NOTE: You will need to click on the photo to see the whole thing so you don’t lose columns.**

I worked the pattern from the top down, but it would just as easily translate from the bottom up. If you can’t figure it out, leave me a comment here and I’ll try to clarify or spell out instructions for stitching.

If it looks a little skewed in the translation, just pretend all the squares are the same size.

Jess

One Response to “Free martini square pattern”

  1. roalyn September 12, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I lIKE THE MARTINI SQUARE you have on raverly for free but, I can;t seem to find it. coucld your please tell me how to get it. I just love it. Thanks rb

Leave a comment