Fiber Arts Friday: Tour de Fleece and Spinning Along!

22 Jul

Well, the Tour de Fleece is almost over. I’ll be sad to see it go, but it’s probably better if I start focusing on knitting more than spinning for a while anyway!

Today is the challenge day for the Tour, so my goal for myself is to FINALLY finish this spindle-spun orange yarn that I started months ago. If I finish the singles today I’ll be happy; if I finish plying the whole thing I’ll be THRILLED. I plan to ply on the wheel, regardless of what happens. It may be a long time before I put 4oz of anything on a spindle again!

After the Tour de Fleece, you may find yourself lacking fiber because you spun it all. Maybe you’ll also miss the sharing of spinning and fellowship of the Tour. Don’t despair, I’ve got you covered! I’m hosting a Nursery Rhyme themed Spin-Along (or Knit-Along, if you prefer) in my Storied Yarns Ravelry group!

You can read more about it in my recent blog post; right now I’ve got a few people signed up already, so your remaining fiber options are BFL/Firestar combed top (an ahhhmazing blend that gives you the smooth spinning of combed top with added sparkle from the blended-in firestar!), Vegan-friendly Faux Cashmere top (suuuuuper soft and smooth), batts, handspun yarn or handpainted mill-spun yarn!

If nursery rhymes aren’t your thing, I’ve also recently updated my Artfire and Etsy shops with plenty of delicious batts and handspun yarns! Use code WWKIP to get FREE SHIPPING from now through July 31!

Happy spinning and Happy Friday!!!

Head on over to Wonder Why Gal’s blog to check out the rest of the Fiber Arts Friday Fun!

6 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Tour de Fleece and Spinning Along!”

  1. Tamara Miller July 22, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Orange is a beautiful color to spin! I am sad to see TdF end too. I am enjoying all of the techniques that everyone is sharing.

    • Needle and Wheel Designs July 22, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

      Ohh, I have neglected others thing to during the Tour. Now it will be a mad bash to make up the time lost to get ready for Michigan Fiber Festival. But it was totally worth it as I learned several new techniques during the Tour.

      Happy Fiber Arts Friday!!

  2. Spinster Beth July 23, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    You said it … I haven’t gotten much knitting done this month at all!

    That’s gorgeous yarn, and I’m impressed you did 4 oz on the spindle🙂

  3. Andrea Morrison July 23, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    The orange is super sassy! I hope you get a great turnout for your KAL/SAL. I love the idea of a nursery rhyme theme.

  4. Voie de Vie July 24, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Ok, love the orange yarn!

  5. AllyB July 24, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Fabulous color! I’ve seen so many pics posted of spindle spinning during this Tour de Fleece that it makes me want to start again. I’d be able to spin at work during lunch that way, rather than wishing I had a spinning wheel in my office, LOL

Leave a Reply

