June Phat Fiber: Science Fiction!

7 Jun

So, as you might imagine, I was ALL OVER the Phat Fiber theme for this month. Here’s what I’m sending in:

“Ensign of the Week” on Supwerwash Sock
This colorway was inspired by all the guest star ensigns who faithfully appeared on Star Trek: The Next Generation week after week. Usually they had to wear the old uniforms with zippers while everyone else got the nice new pullovers, and rarely did you know their names. Sometimes they manned the helm, other times they provided a love interest for Will Riker or Wesley Crusher, and still other times they died in the line of duty. Whatever roll they filled, it was a necessary one, and I salute them with this colorway, inspired by those zippered uniforms:

Guinan Batts
This batt is inspired by your favorite outer-space bartender, Guinan! Expertly portrayed by the lovely Whoopi Goldberg, Guinan was an awesome alien with a fondness for bald men. She was always there for her friends, whether she was helping Data understand humanity, providing an understanding ear for Captain Picard or giving Geordi advice on women. Pour yourself a drink and spin up this gorgeous batt made from a variety of wools and bamboo:

 

Swamp Thing Cotswold Locks
This colorway is one that I’ve done before, usually on yarn. This time I dyed it up on some gorgeous Cotswold curly locks, which I purchased washed and undyed from Wild Hair Fibers at the Middle Tennessee Fiber Festival. They’re curly and soft, shiny and lush! I love this colorway and I think it’s cool how it sort of resembles its name in this form:

I’ll have full-sized versions of the fibers and hopefully the yarn next week in my Shop.

In other news, I finished spinning for my customer’s order. Isn’t this a big pile of fun?

 

From left to right: Corespun “Welcome to the Jungle” batt, single-ply “Midnight Garden” batt and 2-ply “Artemis Fowl” BFL top.

Happy Monday!

3 Responses to “June Phat Fiber: Science Fiction!”

  1. Wonder Why Gal June 7, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    As always, I adore your colorways.

  2. Bobbi June 7, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I love the Guinan! Will you be selling anything in that colorway?

  3. Melissa Corry June 8, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Hello, I couldn’t find your email so I thought I would leave this little thank you here🙂

    I just wanted to say thank you for your sweet comments at Sew Mama Sew on my Game Time Picnic Quilt tutorial. It really means a lot to know people like the project and the tutorial.

    As a way of saying thank you, I wanted to let you know about a giveaway I am having at my blog in celebration of being featured at Sew Mama Sew. You can find it here.

    http://happyquiltingmelissa.blogspot.com/2011/06/fat-quarter-shop-and-sponsor-giveaway.html.

    Have a Happy Quilting Day🙂

Leave a Reply

