Fiber Arts Friday: A Week for Spinning

3 Jun

This week in the fiber arts I’ve been spinning away on three yarns for a custom order. The third is still in progress, so I’m not ready to show it off yet. Here are the first two, though!

First up, a bulky weight corespun:

Next, a sport-ish (I haven’t measured WPI yet) single:

I spun both of these yarns from my own batts, which was a lot of fun! I get the fun of spinning the fibers and someone else gets to knit with them!

What have you been up to in the fiber arts this week? Head on over to Andrea’s Blog and see what’s going on!

8 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: A Week for Spinning”

  1. Rochester Trail Riders June 3, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I love custom orders they are a blast to work up. Hopefully your customer will show you what they make out of it!

  2. Voie de Vie June 4, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    OhMyBob, love that spun fibery goodness!!!!

  3. Wonder Why Gal June 4, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    I love spinning the yarn for other’s to knit too. Your yarns are gorgeous. I’ve started spinning more singles. I finally knitted a few projects with them and I love how the color pops more.

  4. Spinster Beth June 4, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    I like the colors in the top one … green and purple always make me think of lavender, my favorite plant!

  5. AllyB June 4, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    Oh, how I love green and purple together and when you make it shiney…fabulous! Nice handspun, I haven’t tackled core spinning yet and not sure I ever will. I thought I was being pretty creative by doing a Navajo ply, LOL Have a great weekend!

  6. Kathryn | Alpacamundo June 4, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I love love love the second yarn… totally in my color sweat spot. 🙂

  7. Marushka June 5, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Those are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

