Blown Away

27 Apr

So, recently I’ve debated whether I want to save for a new spinning wheel for myself or a new drum carder for my shop. My friend Sara knew this, and she offered to sell me her drum carder, so that’s the option I went with. We worked out an amazing deal proving what I already knew, that Sara is a sweet and generous and amazing person.

Then today, the carder arrived, and I realized that the above is the biggest understatement in the world. Sara sent me the carder, alright. See? Here it is:

And all the little accessories that go with it:

Sara also sent me a birthday present – this amazingly GORGEOUS and SPARKLY skein of handspun that I love so so so so much:

The note that came with the carder said she was also sending me “some fiber to play with.” Um, yeah. About that? This is more than a little bit of fiber to play with. This is the mother of all fiber piles!!!

I will be making batts for YEARS with this much fiber! Ok, maybe not years, but I’m super excited anyway and I know I’ll be able to make a TON of batts with all this!!!

Every time I have some kind of interaction with a fibery friend I’m reminded what a wonderful world our fiber artist niche is. I feel so very blessed to be part of that world!!!

2 Responses to “Blown Away”

  1. Candice April 28, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I just realized that that is your dining room table! That’s twice the fiber than what I was imagining! Wow!

  2. Kathryn | Alpacamundo April 30, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    YAY!!

Leave a Reply

