Fiber Arts Friday: Finishing Things!

15 Apr

I’ve had a pretty productive week, and I’m feeling fairly good about it!

First up, I spun these two yarns for my partner in a handspun swap. The one on the left is my own SW merino braid, corespun and coming in at around 113 yards. The one on the right is a braid of merino/tencel from another dyer I can’t remember right now (it was a swap thing), 2ply and 126 yards.

My swap recipient likes green, so here’s hoping these are up her alley!

I also finished crocheting a shawl for a fiber friend who’s having a hard time right now. The shawl is made from all the mini skeins of yarn I got in the Phat Fiber boxes last year (and the Feb. 2011 box). This friend is a fellow Phattie and we joined PF at around the same time, so I thought it was fitting to make something for her using my Phat yarns.

The shawl isn’t blocked yet, but you get an idea of the colors/pattern. It has a sort of funky, Mrs. Weasley quality about it which I like.

See all the colors?

Please don’t ask me to remember all the Phatties who contributed these yarns. I didn’t want to keep those kinds of records so I just tossed the labels as I balled up the baby skeins.🙂

I also finished some sewing this week. My first-born turns 8 next Saturday, and I just HAD to include some handmade goodies in with his birthday gifts (if only I could MAKE a video game!). First up, I finished the batting/tying/binding of his T-shirt quilt:

I also made him a messenger bag using a pattern from One Yard Wonders and some “Space Invaders” fabric:

I think he’s going to love the little video-game aliens!

Finally, I’m wrapping up the sign-up period for my Poetry Pairs Spin-Along!

It’s not too late to join, but it will be soon! I’ll probably close signups in a week. Celebrate National Poetry Month! Pick your favorite poem or song and I’ll dye up two braids of roving or one roving and one “fluff” assortment for you to spin, inspired by that poem or song! And, as always with my SAL packages, there will be swag and the chance to win prizes! Visit my Artfire Studio for the listings.

Well, that’s it for me this week. Head on over to Andrea’s Blog and check out what everyone else is up to!

8 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Finishing Things!”

  1. Paula April 15, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    omg i want Space Invader Fabrics!!!!

  2. Voie de Vie April 16, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    I love, love, love the two spun skeins for your swap partner – just fabulous!!!

  3. AllyB April 16, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Pretty, pretty, pretty! Great handspun, love the quilt and the Space Invaders bag is awesome. Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  4. Melissa April 16, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Greens are my favorite color and I love what you worked up. I’m sure the recipient will love them also.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  5. Spinster Beth April 16, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    Wow! What a great quilt! And that space invaders bag is amazing!

  6. Wonder Why Gal April 16, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    You are a rock star! I really do want to re-learn how to crochet. All of these crocheted projects are awesome lately. BTW, thank you for getting me involved with swaps…I am totally loving all of the fun I’m having.

    happy fiber arts friday!

  7. Kathryn | Alpacamundo April 16, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    The T-shirt quilt looks great!

    Space Invaders was the awesomest video game!! I totally remember playing it at the bowling alley arcade when I was a kiddo. 🙂

  8. Marushka April 18, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    Everything’s so pretty! Your swap partner is very lucky to be getting that lovely handspun and I’m sure your son will treasure the things you made for his birthday. I have a t-shirt quilt to do for my daughter, I hope it comes out as nice as yours.

Leave a Reply

