Fiber Arts Friday: Poetry Pairs SAL

8 Apr

Hey there, fellow Fiber Arts Friday artisans!

Yesterday I updated my Storied Yarns Shop, and among other things I added listings for a new Spin-Along (SAL): the Poetry Pairs SAL!

If you sign up for the SAL, here’s what you get:

– A pair of 2-oz fibers, dyed by me, inspired by your favorite poem (song lyrics count, too)!

– The choice of two rovings or one roving and one “muse fluff” assortment of fun and funky fibers (like fleeces, locks, sparkle).

– Awesome and fun poetry-themed swag

– I have listed two add-on packages as well: one for handspun if you’re not a spinner but you’d still like to play, and one for a double dose of fiber if you want 8oz or more in your SAL package. You must purchase the initial SAL package first and then these are additional.

The photo above shows regular poetry pairs I’ve dyed in the past for my shop. This time around I’m really going to get creative! One of the fibers you get will be multicolored and the other will be semisolid. They’ll be inspired by your poem and designed to coordinate. The possibilities are nearly endless! Spin them separately, ply them together, knit them up. I can’t wait to see what everyone does with this SAL!

So come on over to my shop and join in on the fun!!!

When you’re finished shopping, go visit Andrea and see what the rest of the fiber world is up to this week.

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Poetry Pairs SAL”

  1. Kate (Knits in Class) April 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    What a cool idea!

  2. Word Lily April 8, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    What a great way to celebrate National Poetry Month!

  3. Spinster Beth April 9, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    What a great idea! Now I want to compose haiku for all my merino.

  4. Wonder Why Gal April 9, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    How are your SAL’s doing? I just can’t get any steam in mine which really bums me out. Your rovings look great and I love anything that involves poetry.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

    • jessecreations April 9, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      Aww, thanks! This one isn’t going SUPER great, I think I have 4 people signed up. I try to structure them so I don’t have to buy a TON of supplies and I can still make money even if it’s only for a few people. In the past I’ve had as many as 10-20 people, but as with everything else in this economy, things aren’t selling as well as they used to. I think your fibers are gorgeous, I wonder why the SALs don’t do as well? I think I’ve had luck in the past b/c of my themes, that’s what draws people in. Also, I can advertise on the Phatfiber boards and things like that, which really helps draw people in. I know I was really tempted by your spring into suri SAL, but at the time I just had NO money for extra things (as per usual). If you try to get people in after a tax refund, maybe you’ll have more luck. That’s what I’m hoping at least!🙂 Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

