Fiber Arts Friday: Better Late Than Never

12 Mar

So, I’m a little late posting today. That seems to be the story of my life this week! I’ve got a swap package due to be in the mail by March 18 (yep, one WEEK from today, eep!), and I’m still plugging away to get things finished for it!

First up, I knit this Lotus Hat for my recipient using some of my handspun from the Ever Improving Me Cornucopia of Thanks SAL last fall. It’s 100% Polwarth, which is not only one of my favorite fibers to spin but also to knit – Heaven from start to finish, I say! I’m pretty happy with how the hat turned out, and hopefully my secret swap recipient will be, too.

My camera’s a little fuzzy today for some reason, but it’s a cute hat, trust me, ha!

I’ve also been doing several sewing projects for my recipient, some of which I have already blogged about.  Another one I just finished today – this one is for my recipient’s daughter. Unfortunately, it fits MY daughter, who is at least one or two years older than her daughter. Oops! Well, either my spoilee can take up the hem or the little one can just play dress-up with it or grow into it I guess.🙂 I figure too big is always better than too small, in any case.

Here’s a close-up of the fabric – it has cute little literary frogs on it:

This week I’ve also been trying to spindle-spin her a yarn, but I didn’t take a photo. There isn’t much to see, frankly, and there’s no way I’m going to finish it by next week. Spindle-spinning is fun, but not nearly as relaxing as using my wheel and far less productive for me.

I was hoping to wheel-spin this yarn, but as I got some horrendous customer service from the Babe inventor/creator, so I’m on my own for trying to fix my broken wheel. I’m hoping the guys at my local hardware store can give me a hand this weekend. If that’s a success then she may get handspun in her package yet!

At least I got some really great customer service from the Denise needle people, so that cheered me up a little bit this week.

So what have you been doing in the fiber arts? Head on over to Andrea’s blog and check out what the rest of the peeps are up to!

8 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Better Late Than Never”

  1. Knot By Gran'ma March 12, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Wow! You’ve been busy… I like the colors on your hat and such cute fabric. I’m glad you got your post in or I would have missed it! Have a great weekend!

  2. Wonder Why Gal March 12, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I love the hat! The pattern and the yarn look rock star. Your swap spoilee’s are totally spoiled.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  3. Kathryn | Alpacamundo March 13, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    I’m sad to hear about he bad service from the Babe people. Honestly, bad service is bad for business. Especially when it’s a small family/individual owned company.

    I don’t remember if I commented on your Denise Needle post, but THAT was some good customer service.

    I’m pretty sure I’ll remember both of these stories.

  4. vivian March 13, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I love that froggy fabric, I’m sure your recipient will like it.

  5. Pooch March 14, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Major cuteness today! Love the colors in the hat! I’m even later getting around to read the posts this week!

    Happy knitting!🙂

  6. Marushka March 14, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Your swap partner is one lucky lady to get so many lovely handmade goodies from you! The hat & dress are terrific.

  7. Kathleen March 15, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    Your swap recipient is so lucky, that hat is a marvel (I love those fantastic sherbet colours!) and the dress is too cute.🙂

  8. no spring chicken March 20, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    What a beautiful hat! I’m just so envious of people who spin. It’s something I look forward to learning… someday.

Leave a Reply

