Denise Interchangeable Knitting Needles Review

10 Mar

So, like many knitters I have often found that I need a lot of different knitting needles, particularly circular ones. I really wanted an interchangeable needle set, but I didn’t want to shell out major bucks for it. I found someone destashing a mostly-unused set of Denise interchangeable knitting needles on Ravelry, so I bought them.

Overall, I’ve been happy with my needles, for the most part. I found the cables to be a little thick for using them magic loop style, but other than that I had no complaints. But then, one foul day, I broke one of the cables while I was knitting – it just snapped! Then I broke several more, and I have to confess I was pretty unhappy about it.

However, a friend of mine told me you can send your needles back to Denise and have them replaced for $1 handling fee. So the other day I finally gathered up my three broken cables and one broken size 5 tip and I sent them back in.

Today I got a letter in the mail from the Denise company, apologizing profusely for my needle problems. They said this hardly ever happens, and they think I may have had a faulty set. Also, since my set is older, they have since made improvements to the product. In any case, they sent me an ENTIRELY new set of cables in EVERY size, along with a new size 5 tip.

This is what I call customer service. They replaced what was broken and then some, and without any questions. I haven’t had a chance to use my new cables yet since they literally just arrived at my house, but I can already tell they’re going to be much sturdier than the old ones I had. (I’ve also learned to just be a little gentler when I knit.)

So anyway, I haven’t been paid by Denise needles or anything like that, but I just wanted to share this example of excellent customer service. In this world where customer service seems to be a dying art, it’s good to know the folks at Denise are still getting it right!

2 Responses to “Denise Interchangeable Knitting Needles Review”

  1. Wonder Why Gal March 10, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I hate my set and plan to barter them away. I have had them come unlocked more than once even though I know they were secure. Argh! Like my bad knitting needed a faulty tool on top of it. I’ll stick with my Addi’s even if they are more expensive, at least I can count on them.

    I’m glad their customer service is good. I guess that’s why there is so many types of knitting needles…there is one for everyone out there.

    Thanks for sharing your experience.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fiber Arts Friday: Better Late Than Never « Storied Yarns - March 12, 2011

    […] least I got some really great customer service from the Denise needle people, so that cheered me up a little bit this […]

Leave a Reply

