Fiber Arts Friday: A Little of This, A Little of That …

4 Mar

Well, this week I’ve done a little bit of everything, which is leaving me feeling like I haven’t done much of anything! Oh well.

First up, I updated my shop with some new rovings inspired by “The West Wing” and “Around the World in 80 Days.”

I’m joining a KAL for a mystery shawl inspired by “Around the World in 80 Days,” so I thought it was only fitting that I invent a few colorways for it. Next week I hope to dye up some lace weight yarn for myself to do the KAL. I’ve been wanting to do a full-sized lace weight shawl for a while, so I’m hoping that by getting clues a little at a time it will motivate me to work on the shawl and see it to completion over the course of the year. It’s not too late to join in if you want to get in on the fun!

In terms of spinning, my wheel is still broken. I’ve got another e-mail in to the maker to see about a new replacement part. In the meantime I’m trying to teach myself to get better at spindle spinning! Here’s what I have so far – the nini-batt is from JacksBlueJane and it’s gorgeous!!

I think it’ll take me a while to finish this, but I’m enjoying it all the same! I’m also wanting to make a bag for my spindle/fiber adventures, but I’m not sure how. I know I want interfacing or some sort of padding, but I’m not sure what else to include. Spindle spinners, any advice would be welcome! Do you think it would be helpful to have some sort of glossy fabric on the inside so the batt won’t stick to the bag? Is there any need to include a pocket or anything?

I’m also knitting away. Here is the progress on my 198 Yards of Hades shawlette:

I’ve put it to the side temporarily because my brother’s birthday is tomorrow and I’m trying to make him a hat. The yarn is Sparkleshan Handspun called “Nepeta,” and the hat is the “Ryan” hat.

As you can see, right now it’s just a brim for a hat. But I’m hoping to finish it up soon, even if it is a little late for the actual birthday!

So what have you been up to this week? Head on over to Wonder Why Gal’s blog and check out the Fiber Arts Friday Fun!

6 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: A Little of This, A Little of That …”

  1. Word Lily March 4, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Lots of fun projects here! Hope your wheel gets better soon.😦

  2. Dutch Hollow Acres March 4, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Love your color choices. It must be shawl season, everyone seems to have one in progress including me.

  3. AllyB March 5, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    Your colors are speaking to me today. I love the greens and blues. I’ll have to go check out your shop and see if there’s anything that wants to come to my house. Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  4. Spinster Beth March 5, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    You would definitely want something smooth on the inside of the bag. Whether or not the fiber grabbed it would depend on the fiber. The smoother the fabric, though, the better!

    The shawlette is pretty🙂

  5. Wonder Why Gal March 5, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Wow! You are rocking the fiber arts this week. I have a cardboard wine holder as my spindle carrier. You know, the gift wine holder. I blogged about it way back when because it was my first experience with decoupage. I am always leery of the fabric because it’s not as secure.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  6. Kathryn | Alpacamundo March 6, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    I love the roving on the lower right and the blue/green for the hat is lovely.

Leave a Reply

