Fiber Arts Friday: Ongoing Projects

25 Feb

This year I have made semi-resolutions when it comes to my fiber arts. I want to use up my stash yarn and fiber mostly, while trying not to buy new stuff unless I really really love something or I need it for a specific project. I’m also trying to focus on one or two projects at a time in order to avoid having too many WIPs that never become FOs. In that spirit, let’s check out what’s on my needles and hooks this week:

First up, an FO:

I have wanted to make myself a shrug for some time. So, I chose the Sagebrush Shrug pattern, which is available as a Free Ravelry Download. I used an amazing yarn from my friend Johanna of Ever Improving Me – it’s a silk merino blend worsted weight single, hand dyed in colors to match my inspiration photo from her “Nightmare Before Christmas” SAL/KAL. It’s gorgeous! I’ve had this yarn in my stash since the new year.

The only problem is that I’ve discovered something about shrugs that I should have figured out by seeing them in photos: they sit right under your armpits. Hmm. This is an odd sensation when wearing a tank top, which is how I planned to wear this shrug. I find it less annoying when wearing long sleeves, but I may just have to suck it up and deal with it because the shrug is too gorgeous to hide away. I’m not sure I’ll be making too many more shrugs like this, though.

Next up is my “complicated” project. I like to have something on the needles that makes me think, or at least something that requires reading a pattern. I love lace, so I usually try to have something lacy on the needles. I’m knitting up 198 Yards of Heaven using my own “Hades” colorway on my discontinued Merino Sock yarn base, so I’m calling it “198 Yards of Hades.” Yep, I’m clever like that. Here it is:

There are two sections in this pattern, the body and the edging. You’re supposed to do 2.5 repeats of the body and one of the edging. So far I’ve done 1 1/3 repeats of the body, but it’s moving fairly quickly. I’m curious about how big it will be considering the pattern calls for Aran weight and I”m using sock yarn, but we’ll see. So far it stretches pretty well and I’m nowhere near finished, so I think it will be fine to wear bandito-style. I’ve had this yarn in my stash since last summer, and I’m glad to finally be using some of my own yarn for a project for myself!

My “simple” project this week is a crocheted scarf. I like to have a mindless project I can work on in the car or while watching TV, something I can put down and pick up without worrying too much about row counts and stuff like that. My best friend lives in Ohio and she asked me to make her an E scarf. She’s a math teacher, and math teachers find these things amusing, ha ha.πŸ™‚ So anyway, she wanted it in Buckeye colors, which meant I had to go shopping. I wanted something with atΒ  least a little wool but also machine washable, so I went with Lion Brand’s Wool Ease because it came in the right shades of scarlet and grey for my liking. I had to buy new yarn for this project, then, but I don’t mind because it’s a specific request from a friend.

I haven’t gotten very far, as you see. I decided to crochet this rather than to knit it because: a) it’s faster and b) it’s easier for me to switch colors in crochet. But I’ve been sick, and quite honestly it’s not as much fun to crochet this as it is to knit my lacy project. BUT I’m trying to keep going a few rows at a time on this so I can finish it for my friend before it gets too terribly hot to wear it.

So anyway, what are you up to in the Fiber Arts this week? Go on over to Andrea’s Blog and see what everyone else is doing!

4 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Ongoing Projects”

  1. Kathryn | Alpacamundo February 26, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    I have always wondered about shrugs in that way. They look like they would be uncomfortable, but I see a lot of people making them. So I figure they must know something I don’t. πŸ™‚

    The E-scarf is very cool! … and being a recovering engineer, I can say that. πŸ˜‰ It is going in my queue.

  2. Dutch Hollow Acres February 26, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    Your 198 Yards of Hades looks like it’ll be a fun one.

  3. Spinster Beth February 26, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Ooooh I love the pattern on the shrug! Very pretty

  4. Wonder Why Gal February 26, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    the shrug is gorgeous! I have always wanted one but…it’s on my list of things to do. Love your 198 yards…it’s a beautiful color. Good call using up your stash…you’re a better fiber artist than I because I couldn’t do it.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

Leave a Reply

