One Yard Wonders: First Project

30 Jan

As you may remember, last week I posted a review of the book, One Yard Wonders. Well, I finally got around to completing my first project out of this book, the Folklore Bag!

The book calls for one yard of home-decor weight fabric. I decided to buy 1/2 yard each of two fabrics because I wanted the outside and the lining to be different. I bought some teal corduroy for the outer fabric and a striped quilting cotton for the inside, plus some interfacing, thread and a magnetic closure.

Cutting out the pattern pieces didn’t work for me exactly as it outlined in the book because I didn’t have one full yard of any particular fabric. But I still managed to get all my pieces cut out, assembled and sewn. See?

This bag is a great size. It has plenty of room for all my essentials:

It has an interior pocket for my phone and plenty of room for my wallet, keys and Nook plus Zack’s diapers, wipes, and a sippy cup or something like that. I can also tuck a small knitting project bag in here, bonus!🙂

I’m planning to make messenger bags for my two older kids from this book next, we’ll see how it goes!🙂

3 Responses to “One Yard Wonders: First Project”

  1. jenyjenny January 30, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Yay! I have this book, and I want to make this, too–hope mine ends up looking as good as yours!

  2. Stephanie January 30, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    cute! I like the lining fabric, it reminds me of the bag I made for you!

  3. Katie January 31, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    I’ve made a couple of these bags, and I just love them!

Leave a Reply

