Trying New Things

25 Jan

So, this week I decided to try something new – handpainting a silk scarf. I had a lot of fun, and here is my scarf all dyed up:

Ok, so I haven’t ironed it yet. UGH. I’ll get to that tonight, though, as I have some clothes to iron anyway. I’m giving this one away as part of my WIP Wrangle and Stash-Down in my Storied Yarns Ravelry group, but now that I know I can do this I’ll be putting some more in my Artfire Studio in the future.

Another new thing I’m trying is teaching other people how to crochet. I’ve got a part-time job teaching crochet classes at JoAnn Fabrics here in town, so I’m pretty excited about that. The first class is just a tutorial on the basics, and in the second class they learn to make a scarf. Here’s the sample:

It works up quickly, which is good for the duration of one little class. It’s super warm and cozy, possibly a little TOO cozy for me, but that’s okay. I’m still looking forward to teaching this and hopefully many other classes!

One Response to “Trying New Things”

  1. carrie Wagner January 26, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    I love the scarf! You just amaze me every time! The crocheted scarf looks cozy too! I hope you are having fun teaching the class!

Leave a Reply

