Fiber Arts Friday: Crafty Books I Love

21 Jan

Welcome to Fiber Arts Friday here at Storied Yarns Central!

This week I have been doing a little here and a little there in my crafty pursuits, but nothing that exciting to report about. Since I recently posted some reviews of books I didn’t love here on the blog, I thought I’d take the time today to review two books I do love, to balance out the review karma a little bit. 🙂 So, let’s get to it, shall we?

1) One Yard Wonders by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins

Image from Amazon.com

I got this book from my husband for Christmas, and I love it! Every project in the book uses only one yard of fabric; most of them use quilting-weight cotton, while a few use home decor weight fabric or even oilcloth. For some of the projects you have to buy additional materials, such as interfacing and trim, but none of them require a whole lot more than just one yard of fabric.

I seriously want to make sooooo many projects from this book! I’ve already got the fabric to make a dress for Jillian, a purse for myself and messenger bags for both of my older kids and myself. The book comes with a pocket full of patterns in the front, while some of the other projects only require you to measure and cut pieces from the  yard of fabric you buy. It has projects for home decor, wearables, bags, baby items, and stuff for kids. There’s something for everyone, and a lot of the projects would make great gifts.

If you want to see more about this book, the Pink Chalk Studio blog is having a sew-along for all of the projects; I’m not participating with them as I don’t want to do all of the projects in order, but I love seeing what they make and I plan to go back to their posts later when I get around to the projects they’ve already made!

This book has a little bit about sewing basics, but it doesn’t waste a lot of time on that for those of you who already know all of those things. It has projects that range from simple to what I would call intermediate/hard, and everything is super fun and colorful. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to sew or wants to start!

2) Intertwined by Lexi Boeger

Image from Amazon.com

This one’s for all you spinners out there, or all of you who think you might want to spin one day. This book is chock full of inspiration! I have always admired art yarn, but sometimes I’ve felt too intimidated to try to make it on my own. In this book, Lexi Boeger (Heard of Pluckyfluff? That’s her.) takes you through the inspiration behind several types of creative handspun yarns and teaches you how to make them for yourself. She includes techniques from simple to ultra-detailed, so by the end you’ll have 100 new yarn ideas swimming around your head.

This book has several awesome components. There are sections where she shows you a type of yarn, such as supercoils, and then shows you how to spin it. Then there are spinner’s diary entries, where she or another fiber artist shows the step by step process from planning a handknit item to spinning the yarn for it and then knitting the item itself. There are patterns for using creative and wild art yarns as well as instructions for how to spin those types of yarns to use in the patterns. On every page there are full-color photos of some of the most inspiring yarns I’ve ever seen.

The only down side of this book is that to make a lot of these yarns you’re going to need the capacity to do bulky yarns and add-ins. There are plenty of yarns in the book that would work with a standard wheel/spindle, but there are also a lot of super duper bulky ones. I’ve been wanting a bulky-capacity spinning wheel for a while now, and reading this book just made me want that even more! In the meantime I will spin what I can and save my pennies. 🙂

So anyway, that’s it for me and Fiber Arts Friday this week. Head on over to Wonder Why Gal’s corner of the world and see what the other bloggers are up to!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Crafty Books I Love”

  1. Lindsay January 21, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Ooo I think the spinning book is going to make it onto my wishlist!

  2. Wonder Why Gal January 22, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    ooooh, I am definitely checking out Intertwined for myself but I may have to see if my aunt would like the One Yard Wonder since she sews. Thanks for bring both books to our attention

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  3. AllyB January 22, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I love all things Wonder. I have the One Skein Wonder book that has lots of great projects in. That fiber looks amazing. I’ll have to check that book out and see what it has to offer. Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  4. Halfpint January 22, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    The one yard book looks fantastic, I think I might have to find a copy to look through (and then most likely buy :D)!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Yard Wonders: First Project « Storied Yarns - January 30, 2011

    […] you may remember, last week I posted a review of the book, One Yard Wonders. Well, I finally got around to completing my first project out of this […]

Leave a Reply

