Fiber Arts Friday: Random Stuff

15 Jan

Ok, I have no particular theme this week. Let’s just see what I’ve been up to in the Fiber Arts, shall we?

For Distaff Day last weekend I spun some of the fun yarns I’ve been talking about on the blog. The first was a mixture of all the colored items – a million types of wool and plant fibers. Some of these arrived in my Distaff Day goodie box au naturale, but I dyed those hot pink. So you can see there’s a lot of pink in this yarn. Isn’t it fabulous?

Then, I spun up the pima cotton (white) with the cotton balls (awesome tie dye colors). I only got through an 8-yard 2ply; spinning cotton is not my thing. It was an interesting experience, though, and I got this fun mini skein of yarn out of it:

I would equate the pima cotton to spinning bamboo, milk protein fiber or some other slippery stuff. The cotton balls were really hard to spin b/c they’ve got really short staple length, if you can even call it that. Oh, this yarn also has tiny white cotton nepps; I just let those grab onto the cotton balls as I spun.

I have also been knitting away. I finished Jillian’s Shroodie, blocked it, and decided to frog it. I hate how the hood turned out all wonky-fied after blocking, and even before that I didn’t love it. Basically, this pattern makes a hooded shrug but the hood doesn’t fit a real kid (as all the project notes attest on Ravelry). I thought that would be okay, but the more I think about it I just hate wasting yarn on a hood that doesn’t fit. So I’m going to make a regular shrug out of this yarn at some point in the future. Here’s the failed Shroodie, soon to be frogged:

I’ve been making a checkerboard scarf for my brother, though I may eventually give it to my husband. This marks the last of the WIPs that I plan to complete, so I’m excited about that. Here it is in progress:

I’ve also made a few project/notions bags, which will go into my next shop update, whenever I decide that will be. Here are the bags:

And finally, I dyed a jumbo skein of bulky thick/thin merino I got from my friend Johanna. I’m going to knit it up into a big cowl and a pair of mittens to match my winter coat. Here’s that:

So, I guess that’s it for me in the fiber arts this week. Check back to the blog next week for some book reviews of the fictional and non-fiction/crafty variety.

In the meantime, check out Wonder Why Gal’s blog and see what everyone else is up to!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Random Stuff”

  1. Wonder Why Gal January 15, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    WoW! You have been one busy lady this week. I love the colors you picked to dye your bulky yarn with. That will make a beautiful cowl/mittens set. I’ve stayed away from cotton because of the short staple length…I’m still intimidated. I give you major kudos for trying. Your distaff day yarn is awesome! What to go with the experimentation. I love the scarf too. Basketweave can be totally tedious to knit but always beautiful to see finished. Too bad about the frogged project but you learn with each one.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  2. Kathryn | Alpacamundo January 15, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Wow. You’ve been super productive.

    I would love to wrap myself in a blanket of the first yarn and the second yarn reminds me of a circus. Too much fun.

    I’ve spun a little bit of cotton. I quite enjoyed it, but the super-short-half-inch staple length took some getting used to.

  3. The Critter Ranch January 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    love the colors of the yarns
    Happy Fiber arts Friday!

  4. AllyB January 16, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    I really like the second yarn, great colors. Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  5. Lindsay January 16, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    You’ve had quite a busy week it looks like. Nice yarns, great colors.

Leave a Reply

