Fiber Arts Friday: Writing It Down

7 Jan

This week I’ve done a few things in terms of spinning – I’m almost finished with a skein of handspun yarn, and I’m ready for Distaff Day, which is today! I’ve also been furiously working away at my WIPs, but none of them have made it to FO status yet, so there isn’t much to report.

In other news, I finally got around to publishing my pattern for this braided cowl:

The pattern is free, and the cowl is easy to make. It also includes tips for how to use different weights of yarn to make this project truly your own. See the pattern here.

Today I made a weaving loom, hooray! Here’s a picture of it in action – yes, this is as far as I’ve gotten. Hey, I built the darn thing, didn’t I?🙂

I spent absolutely no money to make this loom, so I’m pretty excited about it. If you want to make your own free weaving loom, check out my tutorial here.

So what have you been up to this Fiber Arts Friday? Head on over to Wonder Why Gal’s blog and see the answer to that question from other bloggers!

6 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Writing It Down”

  1. Kate (knitsinclass) January 7, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I love the braided cowl – I’ll definitely be checking out the pattern.

    Also, love that you made a loom and wrote a tutorial! I’ve been thinking of trying weaving quite a bit lately.

  2. Wonder Why Gal January 7, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Your cowl looks yummy! I like that it’s not a bulky cowl. I may have to consider that for my next one and I already have a possible yarn in mind. hmmmm

    I have a peg loom too and that was my first step at deciding if I liked weaving. Yes, the low/no cost option is always a great way to go.

    Thank you for sharing the tutorial too!
    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  3. Ellen M January 8, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    Love the cowl, Jess. I’ve promised myself to do lots of stash busting this year and your cowl will go on the list for projects.

  4. AllyB January 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    I love that you made your loom for free. It’s my favorite price for anything. Can’t wait to see how your weaving turns out on your free loom. Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  5. Lindsay January 9, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    That is a great cowel. My sister-in-law would just love something like that.

  6. Stephanie January 13, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    That cowl is awesome!

Leave a Reply

