Distaff Day 2011

19 Dec

This year I’m taking part in something new and fun for the new year – Distaff Day! According to my Ravelry friend DawningDreams, who found this via Wiki –

Distaff Day, also called Roc Day, is 7 January, the day after the feast of the Epiphany. It is also known as Saint Distaff’s Day, since it was not really a holiday at all. In many European cultural traditions, women resumed their household work after the twelve days of Christmas. The distaff, or rock, used in spinning was the medieval symbol of women’s work. Often the men and women would play pranks on each other during this day, as was written by Robert Herrick in his poem “Saint Distaffs day, or the Morrow After Twelfth Day” which appears in his Hesperides.

Some modern craft groups have taken up the celebration of Distaff day as part of their new year celebrations.

Doesn’t that sound like fun? So a few of us on Ravelry are putting together goodie bags for our little group of 14 adventurous spinners. We’re going to try spinning things we’ve never spun before and also just have fun with our favorite handicraft.

For my part, I’m putting together goodie bags of dyed alpaca fleece, tinsel and fabric scraps. Not super out-there or adventurous, but I figure a lot of people may have only spun from prepared fiber in the past, and it can be really fun to spin straight from fleece. Plus, after my recent adventures spinning holiday yarn for my garland, I know that spinning tinsel is a unique and entertaining experience.

Here are my goodie bags:

I hope everyone has a very happy week preparing for Christmas, and remember – the new year is coming soon with all its promises of good things to come!

One Response to “Distaff Day 2011”

  1. Wonder Why Gal December 20, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    You always come up with the best ideas! I totally love it. I wonder if I should just stalk you on Ravelry? Just kidding. I’m so glad you share the fun groups you find.

    Love the combos you picked. My few experiments in Art Yarn have provided very fruitful results and I’ve sold each skein easily while learning so…I can’t wait to see what you create next month.

Leave a Reply

