Handmade Holiday Card Swap

18 Dec

This year I participated in a handmade holiday card swap in the Ever Improving Me group on Ravelry. I’m so glad I did!

This is the card I sent – I crocheted a star using some handspun yarn from Knittink on Etsy and then I taped it to a card (so it could be used as an ornament) which I had colored on. I’m not super creative in the card-making art form, but I thought it was fun anyway.🙂

I sent my card off earlier this week and I imagine the recipient will get it today or tomorrow at the latest.

In return, I got an amazing card from my Ravelry friend April, aka WoolyRose on Ravelry. I haven’t mentioned it here, but I’ve been having some issues with my in-laws lately, and I often vent about this in the BohoKnitterChic Spins group on Ravelry, where April and I are both members and where we “met,” so to speak. April has similar issues from time to time and totally gets me in this respect.🙂 So she used her cross-stitching skills and made me the most fantastic little needlework piece I have ever seen:

I’ve used candy canes to keep this blog family-friendly and avoid offending people who, unlike me, do NOT curse like sailors. So just imagine that the first candy cane is hiding a word that starts with F and the second is hiding a word that starts with B. And then imagine me, doubled over with laughter as I saw this and imagined what my MIL would say if I hung it in my living room. I’m not going to hang it there, but I am definitely going to hang it. And I’m going to go and look at it every time she makes me mad, and I’m going to chuckle to myself.🙂

Of course, my kids wanted to know why I was laughing, and I couldn’t tell them. But instead I did get to show them this lovely handmade card that April sent along with my awesome cross stitch sampler. This is horrible lighting but I didn’t feel like waiting for better light to show up, so here you go. It’s an adorable Christmas tree ornament dangling from an arch in the card; when you open the card the arch pops up. Very creative and totally awesome!

So thanks to Ravelry, a day that was mostly crappy has now become full of fun. And thanks to April, who totally rocks and made my entire week so much better!!!

One Response to “Handmade Holiday Card Swap”

  1. Wonder Why Gal December 18, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Love the cards! I love the cross stitched one the best. I know what you mean…I actually have a couple items like that hanging in my walk in closet. I get to see it everyday and not worry about offending anyone. Really, it’s become my little hideout.

    Your crocheted star is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

