Fiber Arts Friday: Madness

17 Dec

Here I am, once again wrapped up in the madness of handmade holiday gifts! Don’t get me wrong, I love to make things for people, especially at this time of the year. But just when I thought I was finished, I changed my mind and decided to add on a couple of last-minute projects. So now I’m stressing out, trying to knit and sew furiously to finish everything as soon as possible.

Here’s a little bit of what I’ve been working on:

Crocheted Star Garland

This garland was made using the Grandma Twinkle pattern and some red and green kitchen cotton yarn. It was super simple, and I even have a few stars left over that I’m using as ornaments and gift toppers.

Seed Stitch Cowl

I used some of my handspun to make this cowl for my stepmom. It went super quickly – I started it last Friday night and finished it Saturday afternoon. It’s nice and cozy, and I think she will love it. I just used seed stitch in the round, nothing fancy, but I like the combination of the textured stitch with handspun yarn.

Seed Stitch Scarflet

I like that combination so much, in fact, that I also knit up this seed stitch scarflet for my newest sister-in-law. I bought a button yesterday, but I haven’t sewn it on yet. I frogged an infinity scarf I made with this awesome handspun (you may remember that from last week’s post) because I wasn’t happy with it since I ran out of yarn before finishing the crocheted edging. I knit this up to replace it and I like it much better.

I also sewed up a few things this week; see my last post for a picture of the dress I made for my daughter. I also made some bears for my kids but I don’t have photos yet. And right now I’m working on spinning a yarn that may or may not become a gift (you know the deal, you’re not sure if a friend is a gift-exchanging friend or not so you have something just in case? Yep, that’s it). But also no photos of that.

And, of course, now that I’ve made a scarf for my SIL I need to make one for my brother. I’ve cast on but it’s literally about an inch long right now. Their gifts may come late this year, especially since I am also moderating a swap where someone may have flaked so I might be putting on my angel hat.

Ack! Why do I do this to myself every year? I’m off to read the rest of the Fiber Arts Friday posts, hoping other crafters are also freaking out on the deadline so I don’t feel so bad about myself.šŸ™‚ Why don’t you join me?

While you’re at it, have a very Merry Christmas!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Madness”

  1. dutchhollow December 17, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Your garland is so cute!

  2. carrie Wagner December 18, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    I thought I was busy! You top me on that one! You are amazing with your time! Do you have 5 more hours in the day than others? If so where can I find some:)

  3. Wonder Why Gal December 18, 2010 at 5:35 am #

    The cowl and the scarf are beautiful! I am finding that some of these gorgeous yarns don’t require any fancy knitting because the yarn speaks on it’s own.

    I just sold two hats I was going to gift. Oops! Literally, the customer just left the farm. I guess I had better get busy. Yes, why do with do this to ourselves?

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  4. AllyB December 18, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Such cute garland and your cowl and scarf are very pretty. Perhaps you should take a few moments to relax and enjoy the holiday. The last couple years I have totally given up on making a bunch of stuff for folks. I find that I enjoy all the festivities more when I’m not rushing so much. Have a great weekend.

  5. Halfpint December 19, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    Your gifts look lovely, I am sure they will be much appreciated every time the recipients use/wear/see them. Sounds like you have been really busy!

Leave a Reply

