Fiber Arts Friday – Handmade Holidays: Advent Calendar

3 Dec

This week I have been working on my traditional fiber arts projects. I’m crocheting stars, knitting a garland i-cord and trying to finish a pair of pants for my youngest child and a shrug for my daughter. But I don’t have any finished objects to show for all that, so instead I’ll take you on my sewing adventures with me.

As you may remember if you read my blog with any regularity, I’m a brand-new seamstress. I’m having a lot of fun and learning as I go in this new crafty endeavor of mine. This week, I made this Advent calendar for my family to use this year and in the years to come:

If you want to know how I made it, or possibly make one for your own family, read about it here.

When you’re finished with that, head on over to Andrea’s Blog and check out the rest of Fiber Arts Friday!

6 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday – Handmade Holidays: Advent Calendar”

  1. Allison December 3, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Lovely! Projects that become part of family tradition are special.

  2. Stephanie December 3, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    I like the ideas you have for using it outside of the holidays! Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Inspiration Fibers (Amanda) December 4, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Just beautiful! You’re good–I just glued and glittered one together this year. Not so impressive!!

  4. Lindsay December 4, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Cute calendar! The photo makes it look so warm and fuzzy, is it as tactile as it looks?

  5. Wonder Why Gal December 4, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Great job and nice to see some sewing in the line up this week. I still have my advent calendar from growing up. I should get it out because…it’s made out of felt (now that I think about it) and last I looked still holding together after “29” years. You have created a wonderful keepsake for your family.

    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  6. AllyB December 4, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    It’s so exciting to see someone getting excited about sewing projects. You did a great job on your calendar. Hope you have many years of fun with fabrics.

Leave a Reply

