Fiber Arts Friday: Spinning Challenge

5 Nov

I have entered into a group challenge/Spin-Along in the BohoKnitterChic Spins group on Ravelry. If you’re a spinner, and your stash is getting out of control, come on along and join us! It’s a really great group of awesome fiber artists over there, and they will encourage you and empower you as you spin and learn along the way.

Here’s the main idea behind the challenge: spin down your stash, as much as you can, between November 1 and December 31st. Win fabulous prizes in multiple categories for doing this and sharing the photos of your spinning along the way! We have prizes from fabulous shops like CraftyPuppyLover, BohoKnitterChic, JQKnits, MamaJude, Hampton Artistic Yarns (HAY), and several more. At my last count there were 22 prize categories! You don’t have to be a marathon or master spinner, either. Just come on in and join the fun!

Here’s what I have spun so far since November 1:

"Christmas Snow;" Fiber from EverImprovingMe

Twirly Titania; Fiber from Spindipity

Pickin' and Grinnin'; Fiber from various PhatFiber contributors and yours truly

That last one was spun directly from picked fiber (alpaca, Romney lamb’s wool and various locks) without any carding. It was so much fun to do – that’s a whole separate challenge in the BohoKnitterChic Spins group, but it counts for both.🙂

I hope all this spinning mojo isn’t going to kill my ambition to knit Christmas gifts. Luckily there’s a prize category for knitting with the yarn you spin, yay! Plus, now that I can use my sewing machine maybe I can help myself out on that whole Christmas gift thing.🙂

Now go on over to Andrea’s blog and check out the rest of Fiber Arts Friday!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Spinning Challenge”

  1. Lindsay November 5, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Ooo I love the colors! Especially the fun circus looking one at the end.

    I just started spinning again last night, maybe a group is a good idea to keep me motivated during this holiday time.

  2. Wonder Why Gal November 5, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Yikes! I can’t imagine spinning down my stash of course, I have a never ending one. Hope you win some prizes and I look forward to seeing what you spin from my roving.

  3. Kathryn | Alpacamundo November 5, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    This sounds like fun.

    I really like the first yarn and it’s great name.

  4. atomiclulu November 6, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    I bought a wheel 4 years ago and yet have spun anything. I need to find some good books to start actually learning how to use this beautiful thing. The group actually is one I should join and start talking to spinners🙂 thanks❤

  5. Jessica November 6, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    Beautiful yarns! I especially love the last one. Such talent!

Leave a Reply

