Fiber Arts Friday: Quickie Projects

30 Oct

I’m a big fan of quickie projects lately. Maybe it’s because I finally finished my Annis shawl, which was a lovely but tedious project. Wanna see? Of course you do. Here it is:


So I’m trying to stay on track with my gift knitting, and I’m doing okay for the most part. But I took a little break to knit a few other things, too.

First up, a pumpkin patch. I have knit three pumpkins and crocheted two, all based on this adorable pattern from fellow Fiber Arts Friday participant Natural Suburbia. She also has great patterns for an acorn and some leaves, so I plan to knit some of those as well and stick them on a wreath. Unfortunately, I keep giving away the pumpkins I make! I gave one to my sister, one to my husband’s sister and one to each of my children’s teachers. Oh, well, they go super fast so I have plenty of yarn and time to make more. Here’s the only one I’ve managed to keep, knit in my handspun yarn and displayed for now on top of our regular pumpkin:

Aren’t they adorable?

I also knit up a cowl. I started it last night and finished it this morning, and I love it. I only wish I had made it longer, but since I was sort of making up the pattern as I went along I didn’t know how much yarn I would need. I have a small ball of yarn left that I wish could’ve gone into the cowl, but alas I am far too lazy to frog and re-knit. So I’m keeping it as is.🙂 I’m hoping it will dry soon so I can wear it to the Fall Festival we’re attending tomorrow.

Here’s a lesson in creative blocking for you. I wanted to stretch out the cowl as much as I could (since I’m going for the drapey look rather than the cozy style), so I stretched it around several canned goods. Here are side and top views of that process:

Who needs fancy blocking supplies when you have a pantry? That’s my motto.

You see? You never know WHAT you’re going to learn from Fiber Arts Friday, but you can be sure it’s all good. So check it out!

4 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Quickie Projects”

  1. AllyB October 30, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    Love your shawl, the color is fabulous! What a great idea with the cans blocking…I’ll have to remember that one. Thank you

  2. Wonder Why Gal October 30, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    I love the shawl and I wish it was quick and easy because I would totally rock it on my knitting needles.

    Your cowl is adorable. I have one I’m ready to start using my blue ribbon winning bling yarn…now to finish a few projects for Christmas before I indulge.

    The pumpkins I wanted to make but then realized the only orange yarn I have is 100% Suri so…I think I should dye up some fiber so I can knit a true orange pumpkin. I love the Natural Suburbia patterns too. Her bats are adorable!

  3. Jessica October 30, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Wow! The shawl is amazing! Beautiful colors… Also thanks for the blocking tip. That will come in handy. 🙂

  4. Stephanie November 2, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I love the blocking! Made me smile. I also think the shawl is pretty as well. I’m working on one of my own, but I think it will take me a bit. (not the same pattern however)

Leave a Reply

