Fiber Arts Friday: Stitched Together

15 Oct

I love being a fiber artist for many reasons. I love the creativity of dyeing and spinning my own yarn. I love having the ability to make something with my hands and put love into the handmade gifts I make for other people. But most of all I love the other fabulous fiber artists I have met through Ravelry and my other fiber arts pursuits. One fiber artist in particular, my pal Carrie, makes me proud to be her friend.

Recently I asked Carrie to knit a few Sackboys for me, and I paid her in yarn. I think I definitely got the best end of this bargain. Just LOOK at these happy children of mine, holding the absolute coolest toys ever!

Carrie, being the awesome friend she is, also sent a few surprises for me in the package:

Yep, that’s pumpkin juice, it sure is. I am in HEAVEN! I’m so excited to try this; it’s chilling in my refrigerator as we speak. My inner geek is literally going crazy right now!

And just LOOK at that adorable business card holder she made! I love this so much, all my favorite colors and it’s so amazingly awesome:

I have already filled it with some of my new business cards (and Carrie’s) and it’s residing happily in my purse!

Thank you so, so, so, so, so much Carrie, you are AWESOME!!! You have totally made my day, and the kids’ for sure! I am so lucky to know you!!!!

Check out Andrea’s blog to see what some of my other fibery friends are up to today!

6 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Stitched Together”

  1. Inspiration Fibers (Amanda) October 16, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    How adorable! Can I sign up to be Carrie’s friend? Well, actually, I have some pretty great fiber friends of my own. Aren’t they awesome!!

  2. carrie October 16, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    Wow :Wiping away happy tears: Awe, see that’s what I’m talking about! I love making handmade gifts, especially to other people that make them as well. I feel so thanked! I hope your kids enjoy them. When can I make Zach one? I don’t want to leave him out? Seriously, Thank you for your post. It totally made my day and made the projects worth my time and effort! You are an amazing fiber artist as well! I am very thankful to ravelry for all the wonderful friends I have made! Enjoy!Yeah! The Pumpkin Juice is yummy!

  3. Wonder Why Gal October 16, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    Beautiful card holder and ooooh, I want to try pumpkin juice.

    I love those sack boys too! It’s great making friends through Fiber Arts.

  4. Dutch Hollow Acres October 16, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    Pumpkin Juice? Never heard of it, I must go hunt for some now.

  5. nigel October 16, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    Fiber art is excellent. We have rug hookers, felters, sewers, needleworkers, and more visiting our studios. Great to see this growing! http://blog.sidestreetstudio.com/wood/10-reasons-why-you-should-buy-local-arts-crafts/

  6. AllyB October 17, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Hello! Thank you for visiting my blog. Isn’t it great all the friends one can develop in this great fibery world? Such lovely gifts, the SackBoys are so much fun. xxxooo

Leave a Reply

