Fiber Arts Friday: Spinning and Dyeing Experiments

9 Oct

This week I spun up this roving, stolen from my Etsy shop:


This is my regular “Last Olympian” colorway, but for some reason it turned out much more vibrant on yarn than on roving. Here it is on my Merino Twist sock yarn base:

 So anyway, I spun the roving and it looked like this, which was way too washed-out for my liking:

So then I dunked the whole thing in an orange overdye. I like it better now, but it’s still wet. I’ll post pictures when it dries.

In other spinning news, I’m spinning up this gorgeous yarn from CraftyPuppyLover Sexy Victoria’s Secret batts:

No overdye will be needed on this one! It’s going to be a gift for my vampire swap partner. Isn’t it awesome for a vampy yarn? Love!

I’ve been knitting this week, too, but I don’t have any photos to prove it.🙂

What have you been up to in the fiber arts? Check out Andrea’s blog and find out what the rest of the gals are up to!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Spinning and Dyeing Experiments”

  1. Wonder Why Gal October 9, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Isn’t it amazing how a color will change when you dye a roving v yarn? I’ve been testing some colors before I make any mass batches…you never know until you try.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. kathi October 9, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    love all your colors-bright and cheery!

  3. Linda October 10, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Beautiful yarns!

  4. Alpaca Farmgirl October 10, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Oh wow! I love that Last Olympian roving! What beautiful colors. I love to dye so much. That is just lovely. Your blog is so pretty, you are making awesome creations girl. Thanks for sharing.

  5. AllyB October 11, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    That Sexy Victoria’s Secret is fabulous! That yarn is going to make something really special. I’ll be curious to see your over-dyed yarn when it’s dry. The whole dying process is interesting to me but since I just started spinning I’d better stay away from the dying for now🙂

Leave a Reply

