Fiber Arts Friday: Catching Up

14 Aug

I took a mini vacation from Fiber Arts Friday, partially due to not having much to post and partially due to exhaustion. Those last few weeks of summer were rough with all three kids home every day, but now we’ve settled into a more comfortable routine with the oldest two at school, thank goodness! Jilly starts Kindergarten full-time on Monday, and I’ll begin my massive house-cleaning adventures.

In fiber artsy news, here’s what I have been up to recently. I knit my first two hats in the round, both are going to be baby gifts for a Ravelry pal:

This first one is the Slouch Cap Redux pattern. I really love the look of this pattern, but I think I should’ve knit a gauge swatch (I know, I know!) first. The hat is wide enough to stretch over my head, and would be more so if I blocked it. But length wise it’s way too short for me, and for Jillian, too. It fits on Zack’s head as it is, without blocking, so it became a baby gift. The person receiving the hat really liked the yarn I used, so it’s a good fit all the way around. The yarn was handspun from Bohemian Knitter Chic Spins on Etsy; I got it from her in the handspun swap. This was my first attempt at the Magic Loop knitting method, and I loved it!

The second one is the Swirl Hat pattern. I had to go up to a size 6 needles b/c that’s the size of DPNs I had on hand. I attempted magic loop on this pattern with smaller needles and it just didn’t work out so great. So anyway, I knit this one in 6mo or so size using my own “Medusa” yarn on Merino Sock. I like the way it looks for this hat, nice and bright for a baby. Also, even though it’s on the masculine side, I think it’s gender-neutral enough if she has a girl.

In other knitting news, I have reached and surpassed the halfway point on my Laodice shawl. Here’s a photo:

I absolutely love how this Knittink handspun yarn is knitting up, it’s always something new with every row, and I love it! This shawl/scarf hybrid is going to match so many outfits when I finish it!

In spinning this week, I’m working with this gorgeous purple batt from ExtremeSpinning:

She did a Princess Bride themed SAL and this was my “Prince Humperdinck Surrender!” batt, inspired by the scene outside the Fire Swamp. Love it! I wanted to spin this as a thick single and then thread ply it, but the fiber had other ideas, so now I’m going for a skinny single and I’m planning to three-ply it with itself and the silver crochet thread I have in my stash. Here’s the bobbin in progress photo:

I’ve also done some dyeing this week, getting ready for my September Phatfiber samples. I’m sending in alpaca fluff and handpainted lace weight yarn this time. I’ve also gotten a few custom orders dyed and I’ve got a few things to add to the shop soon. Speaking of the shop, I’m having a weekend BOGO sale! Visit my Storied Yarns shop any time from now through this Sunday (August 15, 2010) at midnight and buy one item, get one 1/2 off. The 1/2 off will be refunded via PayPal and will come off the less expensive item. Please use code PFAugust to redeem this sale. I’ve turned off custom ordering options for now because I have a KAL to dye for soon, so this sale is good on anything in stock. Check it out, I’ve got plenty of handpainted yarns and rovings to offer!

While you’re roaming around the Web, visit Wonder Why Gal and see what’s going on for Fiber Arts Friday!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Catching Up”

  1. Kathryn | Alpacamundo August 14, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    Wow. I really like that first hat. Gonna go check out the pattern now. 🙂

  2. teresasdesk August 14, 2010 at 3:57 am #

    Love the hats! And the purple you’re spinning is going to be awesome.

  3. Wonder Why Gal August 14, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    I LOVE the hats and the shawl and the roving you are working on. You may have taken a break but it looks like you are back in full swing.

  4. AllyB August 14, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Your hats are cute. I really like the yarn you used on the first one. The fiber looks wickedly nice.

Leave a Reply

