Tatoo Faery KAL

26 Jul

I’m having a Knit-Along inspired by the Melissa Marr tatoo faery YA series, including Wicked Lovely, Ink Exchange, Fragile Eternity, Radiant Shadows and soon to be released Darkest Mercy.

My friend Paula has written three patterns inspired by the series, and participants in the KAL will be able to choose one pattern and one of my yarns/fibers for their participation fee. The patterns are:

1) Winter Girl Capelet (shown here in my Donia colorway):

2) Summer Girl Scarf (swatch of the lace pattern shown in my Aislinn colorway):

and 3) Eternal Artist Mitts (pattern swatch shown in my own handspun b/c none of my colorways were available):


Participants can choose any of my current Tattoo Faery inspired colorways for this KAL:

Keenan – vermillion red with gold, yellow, orange, green and blue
Aislinn – vermillion, gold, yellow, orange, apricot, coral
Donia – white with ice blue, navy blue, turquoise, lilac purple
Seth – burnt orange, steel grey, olive green, slate blue
Beira (NOT PICTURED) – black with ice blue, navy blue, turquoise, lilac purple (just like Donia but black i/o white)

Pricing includes one skein of yarn or 4oz braid of fiber and the pattern of your choice and shipping:
Merino Sock yarn or Roving: $15
Merino Twist, Superwash Merino or Merino Silk Sock yarns: $20
Handspun Yarn: $25

The capelet and scarf both call for sock yarn, one skein. The mitts were designed for any yarn weight. Paula will be selling the capelet and scarf after the KAL finishes; the mitts will be a free pattern.

Anyone interested in participating in this KAL should send me a PM on Ravelry (I’m Jessecreations) or leave me a message here and I will let you know how to pay.

4 Responses to “Tatoo Faery KAL”

  1. carrie August 2, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Can you tell me about how long it takes you to spin 4oz. single ply? I love the scarf pattern and color way it is beautiful.

    • jessecreations August 3, 2010 at 12:20 am #

      Hi Carrie! I will post this on your blog, too, but in case anyone else wonders, I’ll post here. I don’t think I’ve ever timed myself, but I can spin 4oz in approximately two evenings of spinning time, so probably anywhere from three to six hours at the most? It depends on how thin I’m going for the spinning, too – the singles I spin tend to be fingering/sport weight or so; thicker ones would take less time and thinner ones more time. 🙂 Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

      • Carrie August 3, 2010 at 10:01 am #

        Yes this helps. Right now all I have is a spinndle. I am guessing that will take longer. I made a niddy noddy from your tutorial. I love it. I can’t wait to use it.

  2. carrie August 5, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    When does this KAL start?

Leave a Reply

