Break for Knitting

14 Jul

Yesterday was a resting day in the Tour de Fleece. I unintentionally had a resting day on Saturday, so I spun yesterday. I still don’t have a finished yarn to show for all this spinning, though, so I’ll take a break to showcase a WIP.

This is my Supergirl Shawl.

The yarn is handspun from Knittink. I absolutely love this yarn because it has so many beautiful colors I don’t know what will pop up next! Adrian of Knittink does beautiful work and I have blogged about her awesomeness before. This yarn is no different!

The pattern is really fun to knit, too; it’s Laodice by Amy Duncan. I love it because it’s not the typical triangular or rectangular shawl shape, and also because you just knit increases until you use up half your yarn and then knit decreases. Having a pattern like this means it’s great for handspun and any other yarn where you only have a certain amount to use before it’s gone, so you can customize the knitting to match the yarn. It’s great.

What did you do on your day of rest?

2 Responses to “Break for Knitting”

  1. carrie July 14, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    I do love those colors! I also love how the Women of the Water crocheted up!

  2. wondeerwhygal July 14, 2010 at 2:51 am #

    I love the yarn and the pattern. I actually took a break from spinning yesterday and knitted. Yikes! It’s been a couple of weeks since I knitted. I missed it.

Leave a Reply

