Fiber Arts Friday: Fiber Friends

9 Jul

I have been blogging all week about my fiber arts pursuits – just keep scrolling and you’ll see. Mostly spinning, a little knitting. No photos of the knitting yet, as my current WIP isn’t very far due to all the spinning I’ve been doing lately.

Instead of reiterating my spinning progress, I’m going to use this FAF to talk about the magic of the fiber arts for making connections with other crafters. I “met” Jana, aka Chrome64 on Ravelry, via the BohoKnitterChicSpins group. We got to chatting about some new buttons I wanted to make for my Etsy shop, and after I had the buttons made I wanted to send one to Jana. Which I did, along with a few little fibery samples from my shop. In return, she sent me this fantastic package:

Jana’s a world traveler, so these delicious goodies came from Germany. I also got one of her keychains and the coolest business card ever for her Etsy shop! Check out her blog to see the handspun sweater coat of awesomeness she’s making.

The little egg-shaped container holds some delicious-looking chocolate on one side and a kit to make this on the other side:

The kiddos have had lots of fun with it! I’ve also let them break into the gummy candies but that big chocolate bar will be all MINE.πŸ™‚

I love the magic of Ravelry for helping us make fibery friends, don’t you? Head on over to another fiber friend’s blog and visit Andrea; see what she’s up to for Fiber Arts Friday!

3 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Fiber Friends”

  1. wonderwhygal July 10, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    I love that fiber arts brings people together. I have met the ultimate best peeps because of Alpacas, Spinning and Knitting. It’s great that you are able to experience a “taste” of the world through your friend. I’m off to check out her blog now. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Chrome64 (Jana) July 11, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    Hi Jess! I love the cross-blogging! The Internets is an amazing place! I have pics up of your spun sample!

  3. Alpaca Farmgirl July 11, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    Cute stuff! Thanks for visiting my blog, and for introducing me to Jana. Nice to meet you too! Love the fiber community.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

