Tour de Fleece Yarn #2: Zebra Clifford

6 Jul

Again, I’m not going for creative names here. I had batts called “Zebras” and a batt called “Clifford” and I spun them and plied them together to create “Zebra Clifford.”

So far I have 178 yards of this yarn, about 9-10 WPI (Worsted weight). I also discovered this morning that last night a bit of the zebra batts escaped and wound up under my spinning chair, so I will spin that today and ply it with the leftover Clifford single. I’m going for the same weight so I can just add to the total yardage. I’m hoping to make a baby sweater out of this, either for Zack or a Rav pal. We’ll see if I have the yardage in the end.

I started this yarn on July 3rd; I spun Clifford on the 3rd and 4th and then on the 5th I spun the Zebras and plied them together. I’m feeling a little sore from this marathon spinning, but I’m going to persevere. I have a yarn that only needs plying, and I’m holding it in reserve for a day when I’m just too tired to draft and spin.šŸ™‚

My next spinning adventure will be my Peacock Pheather BFL roving from Colorbug Yarns. The finished yarn will be a gift for one of my handspun swap recipients. Yay!

2 Responses to “Tour de Fleece Yarn #2: Zebra Clifford”

  1. Mandii July 7, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    You should call it Sunburned Zebra

    • jessecreations July 8, 2010 at 12:40 am #

      Ha! That’s a good one – I was trying to think of those “black and white and red all over” jokes, but I think all this spinning has rotted my brain. All I could think of was “Zebras in a Blender,” (I blame KnittinK’s “Faeries in a Blender” fiber) but I thought it might be too morbid.šŸ™‚

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

