Fiber Arts Friday: Grandmom’s Shawl

25 Jun

My grandmother had a birthday last week, so I knit her a Citron Shawl. I used my own handspun yarn and had about 530 yards total, with about 40 left over after the fact. I knit almost the entire pattern, but I left out the last two rows of the ruffle because endless stockinette was beginning to drive me batty. Anyway, here’s the shawl, bound off yesterday and not yet blocked:

Here’s a closeup of the stitches:

I’m really happy with how it turned out. The fiber was Juliet’s Rose batts from Ever Improving Me, and it was a joy to spin. Super sparkly and beautiful; two batts in coordinating colors as a 4oz set. My grandmother will love the color, even if she never wears the shawl. I also put together some pictures for her of the batts, the yarn I spun, and my spinning wheel. Grandmom’s a city girl so she never got into all that jazz.🙂

Anyway, I also finally returned to my spinning this week, after chaining myself to that Citron for two weeks straight. I spun up 2oz of my Whale Wars fiber:

My friend Maggie is going to use the resulting handspun to knit a pattern for the July Phatfiber boxes. Here’s the first single:

I plan to do a two-ply after I spin a 2nd single which will hopefully mostly resemble this one.🙂

I also dyed some yarn and fiber for the shop this week, mostly custom orders. What have YOU been up to in the fiber arts this week? Go on over to Wonder Why Gal’s blog to find out more!

8 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Grandmom’s Shawl”

  1. Allison June 26, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    What a lovely and loving gift!

  2. Kathryn | Alpacamundo June 26, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    You knit that in 2 weeks?? Amazing!

    • jessecreations June 26, 2010 at 6:19 am #

      Give or take, it was actually about 16 days. Plus the spinning time. It’s a quick knit, plus I barely let myself do ANY other knitting or spinning during that time!! Thank you!!!

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  3. wonderwhygal June 26, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Beautiful shawl! I love the colors. I really love your roving and the sample single. I would never have put those colors together but as I look at yours I envy the eye for color you have.

  4. Kate (KnitsInClass) June 26, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Beautiful handspun makes a beautiful shawl! Great work – I’m definitely going to have to pick up one of her batts now.

  5. AllyB June 27, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    A beautiful shawl, the colors are so warm. Great job!

Leave a Reply

