Fiber Arts Friday: June Phatfiber Box

19 Jun

It’s June already, and this month’s Phatfiber Sampler Box theme is “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” When I think of that theme I think of fairies (or faeries, depending on your preferred spelling). So this month I based my sample colorways on the modern faery YA novel series by Melissa Marr, starting with the book Wicked Lovely.

In this book, we meet Aislinn, who has always been able to see faeries walking amongst humans but has tried to ignore that fact because the faeries aren’t nice. At all. But now there is one in particular following her everywhere she goes, and the rules she has always followed about avoiding the fey aren’t keeping her safe any longer. The Summer King has chosen her, and there’s no turning back …

Here is my colorway for Aislinn, available now in my shop on sock yarn and spinning fiber bases:

My second colorway was based on another character from this series. Donia is a Winter Girl; she serves the Winter Queen of the fey, but once she was a human, chosen by the Summer King to be his Queen. She failed to pass the test, however, so now she lives under the constant chill of winter. She loves the Summer King, so she tries to help him find a new queen and to keep him away from the harm his mother causes him. Donia has another path to walk, though she doesn’t know it yet …

Here is my Donia colorway, also available in my shop on sock yarn and spinning fiber bases:

Check out the PhatFiber blog to see a preview video of all the other beautiful samples going into this month’s box. Then head on over to Wonder Why Gal’s blog and see what everyone else is up to this Fiber Arts Friday.

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: June Phatfiber Box”

  1. wonderwhygal June 19, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    You have such beautiful colorways. I love the blue in roving and in the yarn and your Aislinn colorway is gorgeous!

  2. Kristi aka FiberFool June 19, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    Gorgeous color combos and I love that you dye both yarn and fiber in them!

  3. Allison June 20, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    The colours are amazing. You are inspiring me to hurry and get that drop spindle! I hope Casey’s book works for me like it did you. I haven’t even contemplating a spinning wheel!

Leave a Reply

