Fiber Arts Friday: New Projects

11 Jun

So this week I added a new element to my Storied Yarns shop – Spinning Fiber! I now handpaint roving/top in addition to yarn. Here are the examples of what I’ve got so far:

Death of Pan

Mung Daal

Persephone

For my spinning this week, I spun up a mini skein of that Persephone colorway to see how it would look.

I like it, how about you?

I also finished spinning my Ever Improving Me Juliet’s Rose batts and have begun knitting a Citron  shawl for my grandmother with that yarn:

I love the way the two colors are working together. I ended up with 190 yards of the light pink and 325 yards of the dark pink, so it’s working out well to have enough to make the ruched bands out of the light pink and the rest of the shawl in the dark pink. I will start with the standard five pattern repeats but I’m hoping to have enough yarn to get through a sixth one if I can. My other shawls from last week’s post are in a time-out until I finish this because Grandmom’s birthday is this month. Once this is done it’ll be back to the great Fountainhead vs. Multnomah race!

What have you been up to in the fiber arts this week? Go on over to Andrea’s blog and check out the fun!

4 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: New Projects”

  1. Allison June 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    I do like your Persephone. The shawl is lovely!

  2. wonderwhygal June 12, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    You are so talented. Dyeing freaks me out…maybe if I were working with someone who knows but…I don’t have an eye for color.

    Beautiful job…isn’t nice to spin up samples from your roving now. Great job on the spinning.

    • jessecreations June 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks, Andrea! If only we lived closer (I’ve said that twice this week now!), I could show you the ropes of dyeing and you could let me pet your sweet alpacas.🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

