I Smell a New Hobby Coming On!

6 Jun

My mother-in-law just dropped by my house and brought me this:

I’m really excited to figure out how to use it!

6 Responses to “I Smell a New Hobby Coming On!”

  1. wonderwhygal June 6, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Ohhhh, I like! Look what AllyB has started. Now I want to unearth my sewing machine from the piles of clothes, etc in the basement.

    • jessecreations June 7, 2010 at 1:32 am #

      I know! I’ve been drooling over those cool vintage machines she has, though I don’t know how to use those either! I’ve wanted to know how to sew for years, and now I finally have the necessary equipment!

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  2. Carrie June 7, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    I find that you tube has amazing tutorials and ideas on how to sew things made from recycled shirts and things. Some of my sons shirts that don’t fit anymore are really cute and you can sew them up into cute bags. It is good practice and my boys don’t mind that some stitches are not that straight.🙂 They also make good knitting project bags. Have fun. I love my sewing machine.

  3. Stephanie June 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Another craft to snare you into the dark side! I claim it is all my doing…

  4. AllyB June 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I’m.am.so.sorry…NOT!!! LOL It’s always great when another person can be influenced by what you do. Just be sure to pass it on. That’s how we keep the crafting world going, by influencing another person, and another, and so on. YouTube is a great source for self-help and so is your local library. You can find a wealth of info on the shelves there. You can always inquire at your local fabric store about lessons or classes that may be offered. I was influenced by my Grama but I taught myself to actually sew a garment right after I married the first time. Have fun with your new machine!

    • jessecreations June 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks, Ally! I have a friend who has offered to help me figure it out if I get lost, and I figure there’s always a class at JoAnn’s, too if I need it.🙂

      Now if I could just get someone to take my children out of the house for a day so I could sit down and have some quiet time with my machie.🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

