Fiber Arts Friday: The Creative Process

5 Jun

This week, I feel like I’ve got a little something to show for every step of my various creative fiber arts processes. Let’s see, I’ve been dyeing some yarn:

Yes, I know my bathroom wallpaper is hideous; we rent, I have no control over that. Anyway, some of this yarn is for the last few orders for my Percy Jackson K/CAL kits; some of it is for my June Phatfiber samples and to go in the shop to coordinate with that, and some of it is for a new shop update to be announced whenever the stuff is dry. From left to right, in both pictures, we have: The Last Olympian (new colorway), Tyson (new colorway), Women in the Water (KCAL), Mrs. O’Leary x2 (KCAL), Medusa x2 (KCAL), Donia the Winter Queen (June PF) and Aislinn the Summer Queen (June PF). Whew!

I’ve also been spinning this week. I’m working on spinning the Juliet’s Rose batts I got from Johanna at Ever Improving Me. I loove these batts. They started out like this:

Now I have one skein that looks like this:

and another in progress on the bobbin:

I’m going to knit the two into a striped Storm Cloud Shawlette for my grandmother’s birthday which is this month.

Speaking of knitting, as another step in the creative process I have two WIPs, both shawls. The first is my Fountainhead shawl, in my own House of Night handpainted yarn:

The second is my Multnomah shawl in my handspun yarn, fiber from Desert Garden Farms:

They’re having a little race to the finish at the moment, but I bet the Multnomah will win because it’s the mindless of the two projects and I have little time for concentrating on knitting charts right now:

Finally, I have some FOs to showcase. Both of these projects came about as a result of my participation in CraftyPuppyLover‘s Lady GaGa SAL. I got some awesome batts and spun them into two skeins of chunky yarn. One skein became Big Wool, Little Hat:

Here’s a shot of the actual hat, in case you missed it in that last one:

I am in love with this pattern. It’s perfect for chunky handspun and I knit it in a morning’s time, which is really fast. It will be a perfect option for future baby showers, to be sure.

I used the other skein of my handspun from that SAL to make a Holland Cowl for myself:

Again, another shot of the actual knitted item in case the baby cuteness is too overwhelming for you:

All in all, this has been a very productive week for the fiber arts around here. Head on over to Wonder Why Alpaca Farm and see what the rest of the folks have been up to this week!

7 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: The Creative Process”

  1. Hellchick June 5, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    LOL, I love your hat model!

    • jessecreations June 5, 2010 at 5:08 am #

      Thanks! He has learned a new skill – sticking his tongue out – and he’s very proud to show it off!🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  2. Holly B-knitwithsnot June 5, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    Love both shawls! Can’t wait to see which one wins.

  3. wonderwhygal June 5, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Oh, with that face I couldn’t get sick of the baby sickness. Too cute! I love your yarns, your spinning and the beautiful shawlettes. whew! and I thought I was a busy lady.

    • jessecreations June 5, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

      Thanks, Andrea! It helps when you don’t have herds and herds of alpacas to sort and one of your own to care for!

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  4. AllyB June 5, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Oh, how very pretty your colors are. I especially like the sparkly pink yarn. LittleDog says he likes the red/black/blue yarn better…since he’s a guy and all, LOL

Leave a Reply

