Handspun Swap Greatness!

1 Jun

Calling the package I got in the mail today “goodies” seems underwhelming, so I’m going with “greatness.”

I participated in a handspun yarn swap in the Bohemian Knitter Chic group on Ravelry  this month, and it was SO much fun! I really enjoyed putting together a package of swap goodies and surprises for my recipient, Sara, and today I got my package from Adrian at KnittinK. Oh, WOW. That’s all I can say.

I should preface this by saying that I have loved KnittinK since I first discovered it in March, and have regularly stalked Adrian’s shop since then. I also own a skein of her Iceman handspun, which is patiently waiting for me to knit it into a lacy cowl once I finish a few other projects. With that skein I received a few BONUS skeins, so I am already extra lucky when it comes to Adrian’s handspun. And now, the handspun gods have smiled on me again!! Look what I got:

The box had some awesome polka dot wrapping paper, which of course I loved:

When I opened that wrapping paper, it exploded with awesomeness:

First, she sent me a FULL set of the adorable buttons she puts on her yarn orders. These things are SO stinkin’ cute! Her intention was that I share them with the kiddos. I am considering that option.🙂

She also sent me a delicious chocolate bar which I have hidden away so it will be MINE, all MINE! No pictures of that one for that reason.🙂

She sent me a little duck that lights up in a variety of colors. He is being elusive in the photo, but he is so fun!

Then, the handspun, oh wow the handspun! This yarn is SOOOO gorgeous. It has so many different shades and they all work so beautifully together, I LOOVE it! It’s 280 yards of gorgeous, all for me!!!

Look how fine it is, too, this is very impressive!

Then, the beautiful fiber. Where do I start?!? Let’s see, I got this:

Hand-pulled roving balls in gorgeous, smoky grey/pink/blue/purpleish beauty! SO soft, too!!

I also got this:

Superwash Merino braid, white with GORGEOUS blueish-purpleish tones. SO so lovely!

And finally, THIS. This braid is deep, rich, beautiful, soft, and and and and! It’s everything I love, and it’s perfect!!

This swap has been so amazingly fun, I can’t wait to do it again. Thank you so much, Adrian, if you’re reading this. You really made my day SO much happier!!!!

5 Responses to “Handspun Swap Greatness!”

  1. wonderwhygal June 2, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    you find the neatest swaps…I really need to start doing that. I need to check out her shop too…beautiful gifts.

    • jessecreations June 2, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      Yes! I’m pretty selective in my swapping these days b/c I don’t want to spend too much, but I do this one, the vampire one and some of the installments of the swap that I moderate on Ravelry (Heartfelt Handmade Swap group). I have met some cool people that way. If you like comic books or know someone who does, you’ll love Adrian’s shop.🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  2. Stephanie June 2, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    that bottom color is definitely you!

    • Ady Bee June 3, 2010 at 4:14 am #

      Hi Stephanie,

      That’s great to hear! I dyed that braid with her mind, and based on the colors she said she preferred.🙂

      Jessie- I’m so glad you like your package! Thanks again for this post, it’s most kind of you, and I had a lot of fun. Oh, and I meant to ask, I hope the chocolate didn’t melt? I ziploked it just in case, oh, and I tried to find you an interesting chocolate bar, but they had weird things in them, and I was worried you wouldn’t like it. Happy spinning!

  3. carrie June 3, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    I’m so excited, I just got your notice! Maybe it is better Medusa comes by herself so that she can’t turn my other yarns into stone🙂

Leave a Reply

