The Ups and Downs of Spinning

13 Apr

So ever since I started on my journey of wanting to learn to spin, I have come to the realization that there are many ups and downs in the world of spinning yarn. For instance …

  • UP: I get a spindle and some fiber in a swap kit a little over a year ago.
  • DOWN: I never actually get the thing out.
  • UP: I get out the spindle and make something resembling yarn.
  • DOWN: I break the spindle and have to buy another, and can no longer make anything resembling yarn.
  • UP: I buy a wheel, and have lots of fun.
  • DOWN: MY wheel-spun yarns mostly suck
  • UP: My wheel-spun yarns are still somewhat useable, and I’m getting better every time I try it.

This spinning thing can be dizzying, in more ways than one. Here are some photos of my most recent experiments, from DesertGarden’s Bunnies SAL batts (I got Bunnicula; he’s already going for my carrots, as you can see):

Bobbins one and two.

Bobbin three.

I’m still over-spinning a lot, but my yarns are getting much more even. I just do better with the smaller bobbins (like #3), so I’m just not messing with the bigger ones until I need to ply or something.

3 Responses to “The Ups and Downs of Spinning”

  1. carrie April 13, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Spinning looks like so much fun. I can’t wait to try my hand at it some more. I’ve only spun an hours worth at a class I took in Williamsburg Virginia. You did an awesome job painting the wheel!!

  2. carrie April 20, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I like how the yarn spun up!! I posted a picture of some of the Grapes of wrath knitted up. I love it. I hope my friend Jill likes it. It is for her. Her Father maybe passing away soon and I wanted to make her something to cheer her up and comfort her. She loves purple. She also just bought a sun dress that is kind of tie dyed this shawl will look perfect with it. Thanks again!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

