Spinning Results

3 Apr

Well, I used my wheel! I made several small skeins last night using Phatfiber sample fibers. Here they are:

From left to right we have: 2 skeins of my own Aphrodite colorway on roving from Dawning Dreams; Hippie Penguin BFL roving; Colorbug Yarns roving in Koi; A Colorful Life roving in Morning; Fuzzy Bunny’s batt from the March box; bamboo from I honestly can’t remember right now.

They’re all really uneven, some moreso than others. I really wish I could find local lessons, rather than having to drive 40 minutes into Nashville to get them, so we’ll see what I can come up with on some digging for that one. Right now I’m having issues knowing how much to draft and how to control the twist. So I have some really fluffy sections and some really tightly twisted sections. I also really need to try to slow down my treadling. None of these skeins have been washed yet, so we’ll see what that does to them. I’ll try to get some more practice time in later today!

Also, the Son of Hades colorway from yesterday’s post is now available in the shop! As with all of my colorways, you can custom order him at any time.

3 Responses to “Spinning Results”

  1. wonderwhygal April 5, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    They look great! It takes time and practice and having the phat sampler is a good way to get a feel for the different fibers and how they draft.

  2. carrie April 7, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I love the colors!!! Also how do you like the spinning wheel? do you recomend this wheel for a beginner?

    • jessecreations April 7, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

      Thanks!

      YES, I recommend the wheel. It’s a learning curve, but I imagine any wheel would be. To be honest, I’m something of an impulse buyer so I’ve never spun on any wheel besides this one; therefore I have NO basis of comparison. But, that being said, I’m a total novice spinner and I’ve already spun several yarns on it, so that’s a good thing I guess! Plus, for me, cost was a big factor. Since I hadn’t ever spun before I wasn’t about to spend $400 or more on a wheel. I also like the sturdy PVC piping; I have 3 small children and a wheel can’t be delicate in a household like mine!!

      Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

