Fiber Arts Friday: New Yarns, Two Ways

3 Apr

For Fiber Arts Friday I present to you my new Babe spinning wheel:

What a Babe!

I’m so excited to own a wheel! Next week I’ll be painting her, and I’ll update the progress on that in the next FAF post. For now, here’s a closeup of the first yarn I spun on her:

Aphrodite in Yarn

The roving came with my drop spindle from Dawning Dreams (which is also where I got the babe). I dyed it in my Aphrodite colorway and spun it up. Not the best job, to be sure. I’m having some problems with putting too much twist in the yarn, and I’m not sure how I’m going to correct that, but for now I’m trying to just slow down and focus on what I’m doing.

My other new yarn will premiere in the shop later today or tomorrow: Son of Hades. It’s based on the Percy Jackson series again; a mixture of charcoal, slate blue, navy and black. Smokin’ hot!

A Yarn for Nico

This post has been part of Fiber Arts Friday at the Wonder Why Alpaca Farm Blog. Check it out!

10 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: New Yarns, Two Ways”

  1. Dutch Hollow Acres April 3, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    Ooo, I’m thinking of getting one as my first wheel too. You must let me know how you like it.

  2. Hellchick April 3, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    LOVE that blue skein! It’s gorgeous!

  3. Kate April 3, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Congratulations on your wheel! I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen a Babe before – can’t wait to see how you paint her. I was so excited when I got my wheel, too (Ashford Country).

    To help with the twist, slow down the treadle and increase the uptake – also, when it is plied (if you intend on plying it), some of the extra twist will work itself out.

    • jessecreations April 3, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve been trying to slow down, but for some reason I just keep speeding up. I might have to treadle to music or something to make myself slow down. 🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  4. AllyB April 3, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    Your Son of Hades is very nice, love that color combination.

  5. wonderwhygal April 3, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Congratulations!

    I saw one for the first time at fiber fest last year. It’s always nice to get a new wheel. I bought my fourth one this week…a Lendrum. I love spinning wheels.

  6. Holly B April 9, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I love your Percy Jackson yarns! Perfect color choices for them!! Congrats on the new wheel!

Leave a Reply

