Fiber Arts Friday: The Shawl is Finished!

27 Mar

My heartfelt handmade shawl is finally finished – yay! After weeks of Fridays posting only minor progress, this thing is done. I should’ve taken a “before blocking” photo, b/c this sucker REALLY stretched out. I’m glad, too, because my swap recipient wanted a shawl to wrap around herself, and this one fits the bill. Here it is:

aerial view

Size gauge

Stitch pattern

To give you an idea on size, this thing is blocking across my king-sized bed. It’s a pretty good size.

It’s blocking on my awesome $5 Wal-Mart kids’ play mats. That certainly beats $20 at knitpicks! I may have to go get a second set, b/c that was a great deal and as you can see if I make larger items I will need more blocks!

This post was part of Fiber Arts Friday at Wonder Why Alpaca Farm’s Blog. Come join the fun!

5 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: The Shawl is Finished!”

  1. wonderwhygal March 27, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    It’ gorgeous and I love the pattern. It was well worth the wait to see the finished product and your swap recipient will love it. I need to get me a set of blocking boards like you too. When I finished my Clapotis I had it pinned to the guest bed.

    Thank you for sharing and I can’t wait to see what you knit up next.

  2. dutchhollow March 27, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    Wow beautiful! Congrazts on finsihing! I’m a big fan of anything purple and really like that pattern.

    • jessecreations March 27, 2010 at 4:33 am #

      Thanks! It was a very easy pattern overall, just seemed to get boring after a while b/c of it only having a two row pattern repeat.

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  3. Kathryn | Alpacamundo March 27, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Color me envious. 😉 It’s very pretty and with so much lace.

  4. carrie March 30, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    What pattern did you use? It is beautiful!!! Is it fast to knit up? I’m working on a stole I started mid Feb. I work on it 2 hours a day and I’m nearly 1/3 finished. What is wrong with me? Do shawls really take that long to make?

Leave a Reply

