Fiber Arts Friday: Shawl Progress

12 Mar

This week, I dyed six skeins of yarn but I have no photographic evidence to show for it. We’re having some rainy weather here in Middle Tennessee, and the yarns are taking longer than usual to dry. Hopefully I’ll be able to post photos soon, and some of those skeins will debut in my shop later this weekend. One skein I did this week was for my Percy Jackson kits; two were for a Beltane swap member and her spoilee; and three are new colorways. One is called “The Death of Pan,” another Percy Jackson colorway. The other two are Vampire Academy colorways: Rose Hathaway and Lissa Dragomir.

Progress on my Shawl

I do have some pictures to show this week. Above you can see the progress of my shawl for the Heartfelt Handmade Swap on Ravelry. It’s coming along nicely, now that it is the only knitting or crocheting project I’m focusing on. It’s probably big enough now, or would be after blocking, but I have more yarn and a little more time so I’d like to keep going with it for a few more days. My swap recipient would like a shawl that’s big enough to wrap around, and I think this one would just barely fulfill that. The thing is, when it blocks it will stretch a good bit vertically, but that top row of stitches isn’t going to go too far horizontally. So I want to make it wider before I finish it altogether.

Here’s a close-up of the stitch pattern:

Stitch pattern, unblocked.

So anyway, I’m still hookin’ along on that.

This weekend Jilly and Zack are in a fashion show at my SIL’s work; she works for the parks & rec department of her town, and they’re having a spring preview fashion show featuring local merchants. For the record, Will was invited to participate but happily declined. 🙂 Jilly is having a little nutty, as you might imagine a 4-year-old girl would. She gets to model two outfits, one formal and one casual-dressy. Zack is modeling three, as he’s the only boy baby involved in the show. I just hope he doesn’t leak anything onto those outfits!!!

I’ll post photos of the fashion show and the new yarns when everything is done. In the meantime, check out the other Fiber Arts Friday posts at Wonder Why Alpaca Farm!

4 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Shawl Progress”

  1. wonderwhygal March 13, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    The shawl is lovely and looking forward to your new creations. I really do love that you use books and movies as inspiration for your colors.

  2. carrie March 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    The color way is beautiful.
    What patterns is in the Kal kit?

Leave a Reply

