Fiber Arts Friday … Not Much to Report

20 Feb

This week was a somewhat slow one for me in regard to the fiber arts. However, there are a few things I managed to accomplish.

First, I dyed five skeins of yarn. Some are for pattern writers, some are for sale in my shop, and one is a preview skein for my Percy Jackson K/CAL Kits (only 7 spots left!). You already saw the photo of that if you read my last post, but here it is again:

I have also been working on my second Ravelympics project (after frogging the first one). It’s Doris Chan’s Orphan Scarf pattern, done in Fresh from the Cauldron’s Claudine colorway. I really don’t like this pattern, only because it’s incredibly boring (72 rows of single crochet, woo hoo!). But I’m plugging along anyway because I love the way it looks after blocking and I really want this scarf in this colorway. This is my progress so far:

I also got a HUGE fibery package from my brother this week. In his divorce, he somehow wound up with a lot of knitting and crocheting supplies from his ex-wife’s relative of some sort. So he gave it all to me! I’m gifting the yarn to a Ravelry friend who knits for animal shelters, b/c it’s all somewhat scratchy acrylic. Then I have a TON of crochet pattern books, magazines, and leaflets to go through; mostly from the 1980s. (I’ll gladly take requests if you want to pay for the shipping for me to send them your way, all you 80s crocheters out there!) Then I also got a TON of knitting needles, which was AWESOME! Considering I only owned about five sets of needles before, now I am set for life. Look what I’ve got:

The case on the left contains a complete set of Susan Bates knitting needles, minus one size 8. The case on the right was my Valentine’s Day present from the hubby, but before this it was mostly empty. Now it’s bursting at the seams! What you can’t see is that in the small pocket of this case I am also displaying my new point protectors and row counter, also courtesy of my brother. The needles in the middle are ones that wouldn’t fit in the cases b/c they’re circulars or gigantic (like the size 35’s you see in the middle there).

So, all in all, it has been a good week for me and the fiber arts, albeit not with a lot of FOs to show for it!

This post was a contribution to the Fiber Arts Friday blog carnival at Wonder Why Alpaca Farm. Check it out!

4 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday … Not Much to Report”

  1. Kate February 20, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Good haul!

  2. breezehillfarm February 20, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Love the post and I love the colors. Thanks for the share!

  3. wonderwhygal February 20, 2010 at 6:01 am #

    I can’t wait to see the finished scarf. The yarn is gorgeous!

    What a nice brother to give you the great stash of goodies too!

    Thanks for participating in Fiber Arts Friday.

    • jessecreations February 20, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks! If you’ve never tried Jen’s yarns (Fresh from the Cauldron), you should. Though I warn you they’re addicting. 🙂

      My brother rocks. Though I’m glad he came to visit here and could bring the stuff, b/c he said it would have been too heavy to pay for shipping. Yet, as I saw the stuff, I could’ve told him to trash the rest of it and just send the needles; I don’t think I’ll be needing any crochet patterns for 1980s sweaters any time soon, ha! It was really nice of him, though, and now I’ll never have to buy straight needles again!!

      Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

