Fiber Arts Friday: Swaps, Spindles, and Shop Updates

13 Feb

This week, in the fiber arts, I …

1. Finished the scarf for my Heartfelt Handmade Swap partner. Here is a crappy photo; I’m having camera issues this week:

Manos del Uruguay Zen scarf

The scarf is short-ish, about mid-boob length on me. So I added a button to make it into a neckwarmer style. I have found it is also possible to wrap around your neck like a snug-fitting cowl and button it in the back. The yarn is Manos del Uruguay, which comes in beautiful colors but has major thick-and-thin qualities to it, so it’s suited to a lacy project like this. The scarf is Robyn Chachula’s Zen and the Art of Stash Diving scarf. I really like this pattern b/c you can just work it until you run out of yarn, using any yarn and hook combination you choose. It works equally well, IMHO, in solid and variegated patterns.

2. I worked a few more rows on the shawl for my other Heartfelt Handmade Swap partner. I’m not posting photos because it won’t look any differently than last week’s post, except it is slightly larger now.

3. I had major spindle fail issues. My beautiful little drop spindle snapped in half while I was spinning up some samples I bought from Natchwoolie. Here it is, the poor thing:

Oh, snap! (Sorry, I could not possibly have resisted that one.)

For those of you unfamiliar with drop spindles, they are supposed to be straight, not bent at a 90-degree angle like that. Here’s a comparison shot of my old spindle with my new one, purchased from Dawning Dreams:

New spindle gloating over fragile, broken spindle.

My new spindle is a Babe spindle; I’m a new Babe fanatic. I can’t wait until I can save up the cash to get myself a Babe spinning wheel, also from Dawning Dreams.

4. I dyed up a custom order of my “Son of Poseidon” yarn for a Ravelry friend and new Etsy customer, then I listed a second skein in my shop. I love Percy; he’s a blend of teals, tan, and grey.

5. I listed spots for my new KAL/CAL kits, also inspired by the Percy Jackson novel series. These kits will include a 50g skein of sock yarn, a knit pattern, a crochet pattern, stitch markers, and handmade soaps. Each yarn colorway is inspired by a god or goddess from the series, and will be exclusive to these kits. I am only offering 12 spots in the club and one is already taken, so if you’re interested go to my shop now. You can buy the basic club for $25; I have also listed options for adding on second skeins or upgrading to a larger skein in the original kit. You get to choose your colorway god or goddess for the first skein and any subsequent skeins you buy. Here’s the promo pic for the kits:

Percy Jackson Kits, Volume One

Happy Fiber Arts Friday, everyone! Please check out the rest of the posts over at Wonder Why Alpaca Farm’s blog!

7 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Swaps, Spindles, and Shop Updates”

  1. Seldom Scene Farm February 13, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    LOVE that Manos scarf! Wish I could see more detail, it looks really interesting and beautiful!

    • jessecreations February 13, 2010 at 1:38 am #

      Thanks! I’m sure I’ll blog about it again when I send it out, and hopefully by then I will have solved my camera issues and will be able to take detailed pictures again, ha!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com. Visit my shop for handpainted yarns at http://storiedyarns.etsy.com.

  2. Kate February 13, 2010 at 3:13 am #

    I love Manos – the pattern looks perfect for it.
    With all this stuff about Percy Jackson out there, I’m going to have to read the books!

    Your poor sad pretty spindle! Any way of fixing it?

    • jessecreations February 13, 2010 at 3:19 am #

      Oh, yes, you have to read Percy. It’s a really great series, and I’ve read a LOT of YA series.

      I haven’t even unwound the yarn off my broken spindle; it may be that I could tape it. I’ll have to wait and see. In the meantime, at least I have my sturdy new Babe!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Jess

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  3. Tamara Miller February 13, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    Very nice scarf!

  4. wonderwhygal February 13, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    Great idea for a cowl. I have a scarf I knitted out of my first handspun and it’s a bit on the short side so I’ve been hesitant to wear it. Now I know what to do.

Leave a Reply

