Fiber Arts Friday – Spinning, Buying, Hooking, and Writing

5 Feb

Well, this week has been a varied one for the fiber arts and I. Let’s see what I’ve been up to.

Remember the fun sparkly batt from last Friday’s post? Well, now it’s a tiny little ball (approx. 6yds) of yarn:

My First Handspun

It’s got some serious thick and thin-ness going on, and I overspun it in some places, but I don’t care. It was fun to make, and I will for sure be doing it again. I’m saving this little skein for now; I’m thinking of making a rainbow scarf using all my first handpsun attempts, so for now it’s just going to stay in its little skein.

Speaking of trying again, I also ordered three beautiful batts from Natchwoolie on Etsy. I didn’t take a picture, but they’re all black, smoky grey, and sparkly. Yay! I can’t wait to spin these up! Brenda, the owner of the Natchwoolie shop, has her own fiber farm. Her husband passed away this week, so I really encourage all of you in the fiber community to visit her shop and make a purchase; it would help her feel more financially secure in an uncertain time, I’m sure.

I also worked on some crochet this week, specifically my shawl for the Heartfelt Handmade Swap I moderate on Ravelry. I figure it’s safe to post a preview picture here b/c the swap is secret so my pal doesn’t know who she is:

Purple Bamboo/Wool Shawl for Swap

If you read my blog with any regularity, you may have noticed that this is the same yarn I used for my sister’s birthday shawlette. Yep, it is. I bought a LOT of it when I first got it b/c I thought I was going to make a lacy sweater, but then I scrapped that idea and have enough of it left over to make at least two shawls. I also have a coordinating variegated colorway that I will use as a border for this shawl.

I also made these baby bottle cozies this week for my friend Amy, aka beadsidemyself on Etsy: 

Ethan's Bottle Cozies

 I already made one for her, out of a dusty blue w/ brown trim. That was the prototype, and she already has it. These three complete the set.

Finally, this week in the fiber arts I also wrote a pattern and had it tested. It’s going to be part of my contribution to the March Phat Fiber boxes. Here is a photo collage (learned how to make those this week, too!) of the finished tested patterns:

 It’s a goddess pendant/applique/keychain thingie designed to be made with a very small amount of sock yarn. I wanted to make up a pattern that would go with my yarn samples and also be useable with those samples. In March my yarns will be inspired by Percy Jackson (containing Olympian gods/goddesses) and House of Night (which has goddess elements in it), so this works for that well. Plus, you can make this pendant using fewer than 15 yards of sock yarn, which should fit the sample size for all the samples in the Phat Fiber boxes.

I think this will be the first in a line of yarn pendants I design; I plan to try to make some out of my own yarns, eventually, and sell them in my Etsy shop.

My undyed yarn order came in this week as well, so I plan to dye up my March samples and fulfill some orders for yarn this weekend. I hope to have pictures of those by the time the next Fiber Arts Friday rolls around!

8 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday – Spinning, Buying, Hooking, and Writing”

  1. dutchhollow February 5, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    Congratz on your first spun skein! Great colors and I really like your idea of a rainbow scarf for it.

    • jessecreations February 5, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve seen other people make them with small samples of handspun, and they always look really fun. Plus, when I hook it up with other small samples it won’t be so obvious that it’s MAJORLY thick and thin! 🙂

      Jessica Cook Visit my blog at http://www.jessecreations.wordpress.com.

  2. breezehillfarm February 5, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Your crocheted piece is absolutely gorgeous! I’ve enjoyed your post.

  3. Allison of DominantHands February 6, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    Your purple shawl is beautiful. Your secret pal is one lucky pal!

  4. WonderWhyGal February 6, 2010 at 2:27 am #

    I have some spinning that’s been overspun too and I am doing exactly what you are doing…saving it for my own special project. Hey, that’s how we learn.

    I LOVE your shawl. Your swap friend is one lucky person.
    I love your goddess pendant too. Amazing work!

    Looking forward to reading more of your Fiber adventures on Fiber Arts Friday.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

