Happy New Year!

1 Jan

Well, it’s 2010, the year I turn the big 3-0! Yikes. Anyhoo …

I figure if I publish my New Years’ Resolutions then maybe I’ll stick to them better, right? Ha! Well, it’s worth a shot. Here we go:

1. Exercise more. This one’s easy, because if I exercise at all, I’ll be exercising more than I currently do.

2. Read with my kids more regularly. I already read to them whenever they ask me to, for the most part, but I’d like to make it more of a nightly routine. My sister gave them a ton of great books for Christmas, and we have several more that we already owned, so it’s time to dig into reading with them more this year.

3. Learn to knit. I’m already off to a pretty good start with this one. I’ll post pictures later, because I’m currently sans memory card for my camera. But I’ve already made a Grandmother’s Favorite Dishcloth and am working on a Ribbed Mini-Scarf.  I actually had gotten a few inches done on the scarf last night while waiting for midnight to arrive, but then I realized I’d dropped a stitch somewhere along the way and it had a big hole. So I re-cast on and am starting over, but I only got a row or two into it before bedtime. Next up: a September Scarf that I’ll be test-knitting in sock yarn for the designer. It looks complicated, but the pattern seems fairly straightforward. I just have to get a pair of circular needles so I can start it.

4. Launch my line. I’m going out later today to get the rest of the yarn dyeing supplies I need in order to kick Storied Yarns off the ground for good. I have several skeins ready to dye, and will place an order for more soon. Plus I already have my first customer waiting for her custom dye job! I’ll be adding posts here to showcase new colorways, etc. But I hope to have the shop up and running by Tuesday!

Here’s hoping that 2010 has more good surprises and fewer bad ones than 2009, and that it’s a Happy one for One and All!

Leave a Reply

