Sweater Progress and a Shout-Out

21 Jun
 

I’m making myself a top-down cardigan, and loving it so far. The pattern is Chevron Lace Cardigan, and it is SO easy to understand, and fast-moving! I’m making it out of cheap acrylic yarn I had at the house. but I think I might make another one for myself later out of some nicer stuff. I really like this yarn for acrylic stuff (it’s Vanna’s Choice), but it’s not exactly fancy fiber. The great part about this pattern is you can make it so many different ways – long or short, alter sleeve length, number/size of buttons, etc. 

Here’s my progress so far. I’ve finished separating the sleeve sections, and right now it’s about the length of a short shrug:

 

My Dusty Blue Cardigan

My Dusty Blue Cardigan

I’m going to make it about hip-length, with 3/4 sleeves, I think. Then I’ll just add one button closure at the neckline.

I also got some yarny goodness in the mail today …

Colorful Yarn Creations yumminess

Colorful Yarn Creations yumminess

I’ve been playing with some of Squibstitcher‘s lovely sock yarn lately, making a sweater/hat/bootie set for Zack and my Love Bites scarf for the True Blood-along.  So I’m itching to try some more fingering-weight projects. Unfortunately for me, Squibstitcher (aka Jen) has all her yarns on moratorium while she works her butt off to dye yarns for two clubs she has going right now. So that leaves me without my favorite sock yarn option.

So I did some Etsy searching, and I found Colorful Yarn Creations. Pamela has a TON of great selection in her store, and her prices are VERY reasonable. I got three gorgeous skeins of yarn for $32. Yep, that’s 1320 yards, people. Here they are, in all their glory:

Sk8r Girl

Sk8r Girl

Sk8r Girl, a pink/black rockin’ combo that’s going to become a scarf for yours truly;

Paradise Sunset

Paradise Sunset

Paradise Sunset, a gorgeous beachy-inspired colorway to be something or other for Zack; and finally,

Rustic

Rustic

Rustic, a beautiful blend of blues and oranges/reds that will look amazing on Zack this fall.

Plus, it just keeps getting better. Pamela sent me two free surprise goodies:

Mini Handspun Skein

Mini Handspun Skein

This mini skein of handspun in gorgeous greens and browns, and …

Sparkly Fiber ... OOH!

Sparkly Fiber ... OOH!

This beautiful fiber for spinning, in all my favorite colors (and it’s sparkly!). Now I REALLY need to learn how to use that drop spindle of mine!

So the next time you’re out shopping for yarn, my fellow addicts, give Pamela’s shop a try. Her stuff is just as lovely as any of the more expensive stuff I’ve seen, but you won’t have to break your budget to add to your stash!

Leave a Reply

