Book Review: City of Glass

24 May

I got Cassandra Clare’s City of Glass at the library yesterday, and finished it last night (yes, folks, that’s 560 pages in one afternoon/evening). I had already read the first two books in this trilogy, City of Bones and City of Ashes, earlier in this school year. I could not WAIT to get my hands on this third installment.

Photo from amazon.com

Photo from amazon.com

I was not disappointed by the final installment of this fantastic series, except perhaps in the fact that it’s over now. I have followed Clary Fray, the heroine, on her fantastic journey from the world of the mundane (everyday people things) to the world of the Shadowhunters (demon-slayers) for three volumes now, and I was glad to accompany her. This third volume was full of twists and turns as Clary ventured to Idris, the homeland of the Shadowhunters, to hunt down the cure for her mother’s comatose condition and defeat her evil father, Valentine. She was, of course, accompanied once again by her fearless friends Jace, Simon, Alec, Isabelle, and Luke. I found myself frantically turning pages, wondering if evil would overtake Idris or if Clary and Jace would ever solve their romantic problems. I will not answer either of those questions here, for the sake of suspense for those of you who haven’t read it yet. Suffice it to say that I was extremely satisfied with the ending, and Clare didn’t leave me with too many loose ends untied, which is always nice at the end of a series.

I highly recommend the Mortal Instruments trilogy to anyone who likes sci-fi YA Lit, or just a good adventure story.  It’s a great escape, either way.

Leave a Reply

