Book Review: Hunger Games

23 May

Since I’m participating in the YA Book Challenge (see post below this one), I thought I’d review the books on my list as I get through them.  I’m on my way to the library later on this morning to pick up a few more, but for now I’ll start with one I read earlier this year:  The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins.

Picture from amazon.com

Picture from amazon.com

The setting of this book is a futuristic dystopia where the area formerly known as North America has been divided into districts.  District 1, containing the capital, is in the Rocky Mountain region.  In order to keep the other districts from revolting against them, they use several means of maintaining dictatorship.  They regulate food allowances, take percentages of earnings from industries, and every year they hold the Hunger Games. 

The Hunger Games are like Survivor on acid.  Each district holds a lottery every year, supervised by the capital.  During this process, the names of one boy and one girl from each district are drawn at random.  The youth who are chosen then have to travel to the capital to compete in a game of survival … to the death … on t.v.  In this way, the capital reminds the other districts how powerless they are against District 1, and enforces rules and policies. 

Our heroine, Katniss, volunteers for the Games when her little sister’s name is drawn in the lottery.  Taking her sister’s place, Katniss travels to the capital to train for a few days and then compete in the games.  The story that follows is one of extreme suspense.  I could barely put the book down, desperate as I was to know what would happen next and if Katniss would prevail.  Though I normally hate reality tv, and have never watched a season of Survivor in my life, this book sucked me in and wouldn’t let me go.

Katniss is a heroine who embodies strength, cunning, and compassion.  Though she must plot and kill the other kids in the games, she never turns Lord of the Flies on us.  Throughout her life, she has suffered greatly to make sure that her family would prosper, and she continues to do that throughout the games (the prizes for her family will be great if she wins).  I won’t tell you what happens in the end of the book, but I will tell you that I anxiously await the survival of the sequel, Catching Fire, this September.

One Response to “Book Review: Hunger Games”

  1. Ashlie November 16, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    I had mixed feelings about this book.. they were mostly negative, though. I didn’t find myself interested. Check out this review on my blog if you want.. http://ppbooks.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/review-the-hunger-games-by-suzanne-collins/

Leave a Reply

