Fall in Love All Over Again

21 May
This week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt:

What book would you love to be able to read again for the first time?

I don’t know if I will be able to choose just one for this one.  I would love to be able to read the Harry Potter series again for the first time.  Ditto with the Sookie Stackhouse series and possibly even the Twilight series. 

I would also like to see my kids experience a book over again for the first time.  Two such books come to mind immediately. 

I got this picture from amazon.com.

I got this picture from amazon.com.

The first is Walter the Farting Dog.  The first time I read this book to my kids, I had purchased the book and a plush “Walter” puppy at the book store.  The plush dog made farting nosies, so I hid him under my shirt and squeezed it when we got to those parts in the book.  The reaction from my children was both priceless and hilarious, but it’s the kind of thing you can only get once.

What a great book!

What a great book!

The second book is The Monster at the End of This Book, starring loveable, furry old Grover.  When I read this book to my kids, I use my Grover voice, which wins big brownie points.  Daddy just doesn’t read it like Mommy does, unfortunately for him (or maybe, unfortunately for me).  So anyhoo, the first time I read this book to my kids, in the monster voice, they LOVED it.  They still love it, just not in that same, new-experience kind of a way.  So it would be cool to get to watch them turn the pages and delight in Grover’s exasperation for the firs time all over again.

Though it would be great to read all of these books for the first time again, at least I can re-read them with the seasoned eyes of a veteran fan, and love them all the same.

5 Responses to “Fall in Love All Over Again”

  1. gautami tripathy May 21, 2009 at 8:39 pm #

    Those look like sweet books!

    BTT: Second a first

  2. thebluestockingguide May 21, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Harry Potter was on my list.

    Here is A Second First Time

  3. Shari May 22, 2009 at 2:33 am #

    I love children’s books – I have started re-reading all the old children’s classics like Wind in the Willows, Alice in Wonderland etc. I think I love these better now!

  4. Ladybug May 22, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    I’m sure my son would have loved those books!

    Really liked the Twilight series(I have still to read Breaking Dawn) and I have the Sookie Stackhouse series on my bookshelf waiting for me to read it.

    Here is my BTT post.

  5. Mary May 22, 2009 at 3:20 am #

    Oh my gosh, I read the Grover book SO MANY TIMES to my kids! Made me smile reading your post.

Leave a Reply

