Waiting to Read

28 Apr

I’m at a point in my life where I feel the need to focus on positive things coming in my future, in order to avoid wallowing in the misery of my present.  So, since I’m not reading anything particularly fabulous right now anyway (the 2nd Mitford book – it’s cute, but not fabulous), I thought I’d post about some of the books I’m waiting to read.  Why am I waiting, you ask?  Well, it varies, depending on the book.  Some aren’t published yet, so I’m waiting for that to happen.  Some are published, but I’m either in line to get them from the library sometime this year or I’m waiting until I have a little extra cash so I can make a trip to the book store.  Also, one is on its way to me in the mail.  So, let’s see, what’s on my “to be read” imaginary bookshelf?

WARNING:  Major Spoiler Alerts for ALL books!

1. City of Glass, by Cassandra Clare
This is the 3rd book in a trilogy, and I can’t wait to see how Clare wraps up the series.  I’ve really gotten into the first two, which I discovered this year from the Florida Teens Read list.  In the first two, Clary Fray learns that she is a descendant of another world, one where heroes called Shadowhunters battle demons and other nasties.  Then she falls in love with another shadowhunter, only to find out he’s her brother.  Then, surprise! their dad turns out to be the source of all evil in their world, and now they have to hunt him down and defeat him or suffer serious consequences.  So in book 3, it all comes down to Clary’s ability to save the world, or die a horrible death.  I can’t wait!

2. Dead and Gone, by Charlaine Harris.
This is book 9 in the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire series.  I’ve read the other 8, all twice, and I can’t WAIT to find out what happens next!  What’s up for the Sookie/Eric/Bill triangle?  What’s going to happen with her telepathic nephew, Hunter?  What will Louisiana be like under the rule of a new vampire king?  Will Jason and Crystal finally DIE already?  Is Sandra Pelt off Sookie’s back for good?   Answers to these questions coming in May, when the book is published!  Or, at least, I HOPE I’ll find the answers.  Knowing Harris, I’ll find more questions, too, but that’s okay.  I’m not looking for this series to end any time soon.

3. Hunted, by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast.
This is the next in the House of Night series of books about teenage vampires in the midwest.  It has been out for a while, but I can’t seem to get it from the library, and I have to wait for a financial windfall to buy it (of course this is the first one published in hardcover, making it more expensive than the others in the series).  I’m anxious to see if Zoey and her friends will defeat their evil former mentor, and set things aright in the vampire school they attend.  Plus, what will happen to the new red fledglings?  They kind of creep me out, personally, but I hope for Stevie Rae’s sake that they turn out okay.

4. Ink Exchange and Fragile Eternity, by Melissa Marr.
This would be books 2 and 3 of the Wicked Lovely series by Marr.  Aislinn is a girl who always knew faeries existed, but tried to pretend that they didn’t.  Unfortunately, that backfired when Keenan, the Faery Summer King, made her his queen (pretty much against her will).  So now, she’s stuck ruling this world she avoided all her life, and trying to balance that with a relationship with her human boyfriend, Seth.  I’m really excited to read the story from a slightly different point of view in Ink Exchange, and then get back to full-time Aislinn/Keenan/Seth/Donia in Fragile Eternity.

5. 201 Crochet Motifs, Blocks, Projects, and Ideas by Melody Griffiths.
I am exchanging this book for some of my stash yarn with a Ravelry buddy.  I’m really excited, because I have been needing to thin out my stash for a while anyway, and this gal has only ever used Red Heart yarn.  Can you imagine?  She hasn’t ever knit with anything better than that, so I’m looking forward to sending her a variety of fibers and brands in exchange for this cool new book.  The book includes motifs and blocks, which are just handy to have around, but also combines that with project ideas for what to do with them.  Sounds like fun!

So, what’s on your imaginary bookshelf, waiting for you?

Leave a Reply

