Okay, marzipan is gross, but …

23 Apr

… look at these!!

I stole this pic off etsy.  Look for the link later in the post. :)

I stole this pic off etsy. Look for the link later in the post. 🙂

 I have fond memories from my childhood of the boxes of Aunt Charlotte’s candies that my grandparents would send us.  A big, giant box of assorted chocolates – yum!  It was always a crap shoot, though, because Aunt Charlotte’s does not come with a chart telling you the contents of each chocolate.  So while you might get lucky with a caramel or buttercream, you might also bite into the dreaded marzipan.  Ugh.  I don’t think I’ve ever spit out chocolate in my life, except for chocolate tainted with marzipan filling.

However, today I was browsing on Etsy and I found a new love for marzipan.  Mostly because of what it can do.  LOOK at those awesome cupcakes up there!  And for my omnivorous friends (ahem, Steph), they’re vegan, too.  This only makes them less appealing to my palette, but it does nothing to reduce their visual appeal.  Those things are AMAZING!! 

If you want to know how to make these for yourself, visit the Etsy Storque here.  And while you’re at it, maybe you can figure out how to make these out of something yummier than marzipan, huh?

2 Responses to “Okay, marzipan is gross, but …”

  1. CanCan (Mom Most Traveled) April 23, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Yes, Marzipan is NOT tasty, so is kind of unfair that it can be made to look so adorable and appealing.
    I made the mistake of biting into some “candy” fruit sculpted out of marzipan. ACK!

    • Stephanie April 24, 2009 at 5:19 am #

      You know, technically we are both omnivorous.

Leave a Reply

